Millwall 3-2 Coventry: The Lions edge the Sky Blues at The Den

Photo Credit: AP

Millwall eased past Coventry City in a 3-2 victory on Saturday at the Den. Millwall arrived at the match looking pick up points after losing 2-0 to Sheffield United in their last match. Coventry, on the other hand, secured a point against Sunderland AFC in their previous match. As the table looks today, Millwall are in 4th place, with 6 points from 3 matches, while Coventry sit in 21st, with 1 point from 3.

Coventry started strongly in the first half, with an early goal from Kyle McFadzean in the 2nd minute. The Sky Blues looked to have the match under control when they scored again and increased their lead, thanks to a goal from Matt Godden at the 28 minute mark to establish a 2-0. The Lions in turn, then responded, 36 minutes in increasing their lead with an effort from Jake Cooper, concluding the first half 2-1.

Millwall started strong in the second half and were able to dominate, when George Honeyman found the net, at 53 minutes. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from George Saville just before the final whistle to make it 3-2.

Substitutions for Millwall included Tyler Burey, Ryan Leonard, George Saville, Isaac Olaofe and George Evans for Mason Bennett, Charlie Cresswell, George Honeyman, Benik Afobe and Jamie Shackleton, repectively. Coventry replaced Fabio Tavares and Josh Eccles with Matt Godden and Jonathan Panzo.

The referee booked Jamie Shackleton, Tyler Burey, Benik Afobe and Danny McNamara from Millwall. Coventry had the worst of it though, with Gustavo Hamer, Jake Bidwell and Kyle McFadzean seeing yellow, and Gustavo Hamer (2 yellow cards) then sent off with a red.

Millwall will next travel to Swansea City, while Coventry will face Wigan Athletic at home.

Technical card:
Millwall:Danny McNamara, Jamie Shackleton (George Evans, min.90), George Honeyman (George Saville, min.81), Murray Wallace, Mason Bennett (Tyler Burey, min.12), Bartosz Bialkowski, Charlie Cresswell (Ryan Leonard, min.80), Scott Malone, Billy Mitchell, Benik Afobe (Isaac Olaofe, min.90) and Jake Cooper
Coventry City:Simon Moore, Fankaty Dabo, Gustavo Hamer, Jonathan Panzo (Josh Eccles, min.89), Matt Godden (Fabio Tavares, min.89), Jake Bidwell, Viktor Gyokeres, Dominic Hyam, Ben Sheaf, Jamie Allen and Kyle McFadzean
Stadium:the Den
Goals:Kyle McFadzean (0-1, min. 2), Matt Godden (0-2, min. 28), Jake Cooper (1-2, min. 36), George Honeyman (2-2, min. 53) and George Saville (3-2, min. 85)