Hull City 1-3 Middlesbrough: Boro put in a strong shift against the Tigers

Photo Credit: AP

Hull City were defeated at home by Middlesbrough at Mkm Stadium on Tuesday. Both Hull City and Boro came from defeats in their previous league games. Hull City were looking forward to playing again after losing their last match 1-0 to Blackburn Rovers. Boro were beaten 2-1 in their previous match against Preston North End. both teams are now on 20 points and occupy 20th and 18th places respectively after 19 matches.

The Boro started the first half well, with a goal from Chuba Akpom in the 30th minute, saw out the first half 1-0.

Hull City took the initiative in the second half, thanks to a goal from Cyrus Christie on the 60 minute mark. However, each side looked hungry to win and Boro then found the back of the net, at 63 minutes thanks to Tobias Figueiredo, taking the score to 2-1. Boro then netted again and increased their advantage thanks to a second effort from Cyrus Christie in the 80th minute to give a final score of 3-1.

Substitutions for Hull City included Dimitris Pelkas, Dogukan Sinik, Lewie Coyle and Ryan Longman for Regan Slater, Ryan Woods, Brandon Fleming and Ozan Tufan, respectively. Boro brought on Rodrigo Muniz, Matt Crooks, Alex Mowatt and Anfernee Dijksteel, to replace Marcus Forss, Riley McGree, Hayden Hackney and Isaiah Jones.

There were bookings for Tobias Figueiredo from Hull City. For Boro, Hayden Hackney, Tommy Smith and Isaiah Jones saw yellow.

Hull City will next play Millwall away, with Boro facing Bristol City at home.

Technical card:
Hull City:Regan Slater (Dimitris Pelkas, min.55), Ryan Woods (Dogukan Sinik, min.55), Cyrus Christie, Tobias Figueiredo, Brandon Fleming (Lewie Coyle, min.73) and Ozan Tufan (Ryan Longman, min.80)
Middlesbrough:Hayden Hackney (Alex Mowatt, min.90), Tommy Smith, Chuba Akpom, Marcus Forss (Rodrigo Muniz, min.71), Riley McGree (Matt Crooks, min.84) and Isaiah Jones (Anfernee Dijksteel, min.90)
Stadium:Mkm Stadium
Goals:Chuba Akpom (0-1, min. 30), Cyrus Christie (1-1, min. 60), Tobias Figueiredo (1-2, min. 63) and Cyrus Christie (1-3, min. 80)