Burnley 4-0 Swansea: The Clarets power their way to the top of the Championship

Photo Credit: AP

On Saturday, Swansea City suffered an away defeat to Burnley at Turf Moor. Both teams arrived fresh from some positive results. Burnley were looking to pick up points, following a 1-0 victory against Coventry City whilst Swansea were coming from consecutive wins against Sunderland AFC and Watford. Burnley are now in 1st place on the table and have 25 points while Swansea sit in 8th with 21 points after 15 matches.

The Clarets started the match strongly, when Vitinho opened the rout, at 15 minutes. Burnley looked to have the match under control when they scored again to grab the advantage, thanks to a goal from Jay Rodriguez, 29 minutes in to establish a 2-0. However they weren’t finished yet and Anass Zaroury made it 3-0 just before half-time, which saw the first half end 3-0.

Burnley continued to pile on the pressure in the second half and were rewarded, when Jay Rodriguez found the net once more, 57 minutes in, sealing a resounding 4-0 victory for the home side.

Substitutions for Burnley included Johann Gudmundsson, Samuel Bastien, Ashley Barnes, Manuel Benson and Conrad Egan-Riley for Nathan Tella, Jack Cork, Jay Rodriguez, Anass Zaroury and Ian Maatsen, respectively. Swansea brought on Oliver Cooper, Liam Cullen and Fin Stevens, to replace Olivier Ntcham, Michael Obafemi and Matthew Sorinola.

The referee booked Josh Brownhill from Burnley. Swansea had the worst of it though, with Matthew Sorinola, Ben Cabango, Jay Fulton and Joel Latibeaudiere seeing yellow, and Joel Piroe then sent off with a red.

Burnley will next travel to Birmingham City, while Swansea will face Reading at home.

Technical card:
Burnley:Vitinho, Jay Rodriguez (Ashley Barnes, min.77), Anass Zaroury (Manuel Benson, min.77), Josh Brownhill, Nathan Tella (Johann Gudmundsson, min.62), Jack Cork (Samuel Bastien, min.77) and Ian Maatsen (Conrad Egan-Riley, min.85)
Swansea City:Matthew Sorinola (Fin Stevens, min.75), Ben Cabango, Jay Fulton, Joel Latibeaudiere, Olivier Ntcham (Oliver Cooper, min.63), Michael Obafemi (Liam Cullen, min.63) and Joel Piroe
Stadium:Turf Moor
Goals:Vitinho (1-0, min. 15), Jay Rodriguez (2-0, min. 29), Anass Zaroury (3-0, min. 45) and Jay Rodriguez (4-0, min. 57)