Santos 4 – Cruz Azul 0: Heavy loss for La Máquina at Estadio Tsm Corona

Photo Credit: AP

Santos Laguna on a 4-0 win against Cruz Azul on Sunday at Estadio Tsm Corona. Both Santos and Cruz Azul arrived fresh from some positive results. Santos were looking to continue their run after winning last match while Cruz Azul were able to continue their winning streak after a 1-0 win against Necaxa in their last match. Following today’s result, Santos are currently 4th with 10 points from 7 matches, while Cruz Azul sit in 11th, with 8 points from 7.

Santos started strongly in the first half, when Javier Correa opened the rout at the 18 minute mark to take them into the break 1-0 up.

Guerreros staged a comeback in the second half, with an early goal from Hugo Rodriguez in the 48th minute. The momentum was now with Santos, who then scored again through a goal from Eduardo Aguirre, 52 minutes in to establish a 3-0. However they weren’t finished yet and Carlos Orrantia made it 4-0 in the 58th minute with a final score of 4-0.

Substitutions for Santos included Harold Preciado, Leonardo Suarez, Diego Medina, Cecilio Dominguez and Aldo Lopez for Javier Correa, Juan Brunetta, Jair Gonzalez, Eduardo Aguirre and Alan Cervantes, repectively. Cruz Azul brought on Angel Romero, Gonzalo Carneiro and Christian Tabo for Ivan Morales, Erik Lira and Carlos Rotondi.

Santos will next play Tigres UANL away, with Cruz Azul facing Deportivo Toluca at home.

Technical card:
Santos Laguna:Carlos Acevedo, Carlos Orrantia, Felix Torres, Hugo Rodriguez, Omar Chagoya, Jair Gonzalez (Diego Medina, min.69), Alan Cervantes (Aldo Lopez, min.90), Fernando Gorriaran, Juan Brunetta (Leonardo Suarez, min.69), Eduardo Aguirre (Cecilio Dominguez, min.77) and Javier Correa (Harold Preciado, min.68)
Cruz Azul:Sebastian Jurado, Jose Martinez, Luis Abram, Juan Escobar, Ignacio Rivero, Uriel Antuna, Rafael Baca, Erik Lira (Gonzalo Carneiro, min.46), Carlos Rodriguez, Carlos Rotondi (Christian Tabo, min.77) and Ivan Morales (Angel Romero, min.46)
Stadium:Estadio Tsm Corona
Goals:Javier Correa (1-0, min. 18), Hugo Rodriguez (2-0, min. 48), Eduardo Aguirre (3-0, min. 52) and Carlos Orrantia (4-0, min. 58)