Pachuca 2 – Santos 0: Los Tuzos see visitors off at Estadio Miguel Hidalgo

Photo Credit: AP

Pachuca beat Santos Laguna with a 2-0 victory on Sunday at Estadio Miguel Hidalgo. Both sides arrived on the back of wins. Pachuca were looking to pick up points after winning their previous two games in the competition. The most recent was against the Atlas at home (3-1), the other to León at home (1-0) whilst Santos were coming from consecutive wins against Tijuana and Pumas. Pachuca are now in 4th place, with 21 points from 12 matches, while Santos sit in 3rd, with 22 points from 12.

After an uneventful first half, whatever was said in the dressing room at half time, seemed to have a positive effect on Los Tuzos who started the second half strongly, when Nicolas Ibanez found the net, 54 minutes in. Pachuca then netted once more and increased their lead thanks to a goal from Eduardo Lopez in the 77th minute to make it 2-0.

Substitutions for Pachuca included Paulino De la Fuente Gomez, Eduardo Lopez, Marino Hinestroza and Jesus Daniel Hernandez Casiano for Israel Luna, Victor Guzman, Aviles Hurtado and Nicolas Ibanez, respectively. Santos brought on Eduardo Aguirre, Jose Avila, Cecilio Dominguez, Aldo Lopez and Diego Medina, to replace Leonardo Suarez, Fernando Gorriaran, Harold Preciado, Juan Brunetta and Alan Cervantes.

The referee booked Kevin Alvarez, Victor Guzman, Oscar Murillo and Israel Luna from Pachuca. Santos had the worst of it though, with Javier Correa and Hugo Rodriguez seeing yellow, and Javier Correa (2 yellow cards) then sent off with a red.

Pachuca will play their next fixture away against Monterrey, while Santos will face Mazatlán at home.

Technical card:
Pachuca:Oscar Ustari, Kevin Alvarez, Oscar Murillo, Gustavo Cabral, Mauricio Isais, Erick Sanchez, Victor Guzman (Eduardo Lopez, min.74), Luis Chavez, Nicolas Ibanez (Jesus Daniel Hernandez Casiano, min.85), Israel Luna (Paulino De la Fuente Gomez, min.74) and Aviles Hurtado (Marino Hinestroza, min.78)
Santos Laguna:Carlos Acevedo, Carlos Orrantia, Ronaldo Prieto, Hugo Rodriguez, Omar Chagoya, Leonardo Suarez (Eduardo Aguirre, min.58), Alan Cervantes (Diego Medina, min.89), Fernando Gorriaran (Jose Avila, min.66), Juan Brunetta (Aldo Lopez, min.89), Javier Correa and Harold Preciado (Cecilio Dominguez, min.66)
Stadium:Estadio Miguel Hidalgo
Goals:Nicolas Ibanez (1-0, min. 54) and Eduardo Lopez (2-0, min. 77)