UNAM 1 – Monterrey 1: Los Pumas denied all 3 points at Estadio Olimpico Universitario

Photo Credit: AP

UNAM were held to 1-1 draw by Monterrey down on Sunday at Estadio Olimpico Universitario. UNAM wanted to continue adding points following a disappointing 1-1 draw with Mazatlán in their previous game whilst Monterrey were hoping to increase their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Puebla and Querétaro. As it stands, UNAM and Monterrey currently occupy 9th and 3rd spots in the league, with 7 points and 12 points respectively after 6 matches.

UNAM started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, when Jero Rodriguez found the net in the 44th minute. However, their lead was short lived, as Nicolas Freire equalised for Monterrey just before halftime, to take a 1-1 lead into half time. The second part ended with little further action at either end and goalless.

Substitutions for UNAM included Efraín Velarde, Marco Garcia, Cesar Huerta and Diogo de Oliveira for Jero Rodriguez, Leonel Lopez, Gustavo Del Prete and Pablo Bennevendo, repectively. Monterrey brought on Arturo Gonzalez, Celso Ortiz, German Berterame, Cesar Montes and Sebastian Vegas, to replace Jesus Gallardo, Rodolfo Pizarro, Matias Kranevitter, Edson Gutierrez and Maximiliano Meza.

There were bookings for Leonel Lopez from UNAM. For Monterrey, Hector Moreno, Maximiliano Meza, Rogelio Funes Mori, Luis Romo, Stefan Medina and Erick Aguirre saw yellow.

UNAM will next play Puebla away, with Monterrey facing León at home.

Technical card:
Pumas:Julio Gonzalez, Pablo Bennevendo (Diogo de Oliveira, min.89), Nicolas Freire, Arturo Ortiz, Jero Rodriguez (Efraín Velarde, min.58), Eduardo Salvio, Higor Meritao, Dani Alves, Leonel Lopez (Marco Garcia, min.84), Gustavo Del Prete (Cesar Huerta, min.84) and Juan Dinenno
Monterrey:Luis Cardenas, Edson Gutierrez (Cesar Montes, min.83), Stefan Medina, Hector Moreno, Erick Aguirre, Maximiliano Meza (Sebastian Vegas, min.83), Matias Kranevitter (German Berterame, min.71), Luis Romo, Jesus Gallardo (Arturo Gonzalez, min.63), Rodolfo Pizarro (Celso Ortiz, min.64) and Rogelio Funes Mori
Stadium:Estadio Olimpico Universitario
Goals:Jero Rodriguez (1-0, min. 44) and Nicolas Freire (1-1, min. 45)