Pachuca 3 – ATL 1: Los Tuzos jubilant after home win against Los Zorros

Photo Credit: AP

Pachuca eased past Atlas in a 3-1 victory on Friday at Estadio Miguel Hidalgo. Pachuca were looking to continue their run, following a 1-0 victory against León while ATL are struggling for form following a draw in their last match. After today’s result, Pachuca are currently 6th with 15 points from 16 matches, while ATL sit in 14th, with 9 points from 16.

After a goalless first half, Pachuca piled on the pressure in the second and were rewarded, when Nicolas Ibanez found the net, 64 minutes in. However, they were unable to maintain their lead, Jonathan Herrera managed to equalize and take the sides off at the 69 minute mark at 1-1. However, each side looked hungry to win and Los Tuzos then found the back of the net, 74 minutes in thanks to Luis Chavez, taking the score to 2-1. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Eduardo Lopez just before the final whistle to make it 3-1.

Substitutions for Pachuca included Israel Luna, Marino Hinestroza, Eduardo Lopez and Paulino De la Fuente Gomez for Romario Ibarra, Aviles Hurtado, Mauricio Isais and Roberto De La Rosa, repectively. ATL replaced Edison Flores, Diego Zaragoza and Jesus Ocejo with Julio Furch, Jose Abella and Angel Marquez.

Anderson Santamaria saw the red card, for ATL.

Pachuca will play their next fixture away against Monterrey, while ATL will face Necaxa at home.

Technical card:
Pachuca:Oscar Ustari, Kevin Alvarez, Oscar Murillo, Gustavo Cabral, Mauricio Isais (Eduardo Lopez, min.73), Aviles Hurtado (Marino Hinestroza, min.58), Luis Chavez, Erick Sanchez, Romario Ibarra (Israel Luna, min.58), Nicolas Ibanez and Roberto De La Rosa (Paulino De la Fuente Gomez, min.77)
Atlas:Camilo Vargas, Jose Abella (Diego Zaragoza, min.81), Hugo Nervo, Anderson Santamaria, Luis Reyes, Anibal Chala, Angel Marquez (Jesus Ocejo, min.82), Edgar Zaldivar, Jonathan Herrera, Julio Furch (Edison Flores, min.71) and Julian Quinones
Stadium:Estadio Miguel Hidalgo
Goals:Nicolas Ibanez (1-0, min. 64), Jonathan Herrera (1-1, min. 69), Luis Chavez (2-1, min. 74) and Eduardo Lopez (3-1, min. 90)