Necaxa 1 – Monterrey 2: Visitors ecstatic after win at Estadio Victoria

Photo Credit: AP

Monterrey beat Necaxa with a thumping 2-1 victory on Saturday at Estadio Victoria. Both sides arrived in good form, having secured victories in their previous matches. Necaxa were looking to pick up points, following a 2-1 victory against Atl. San Luis. Monterrey, on the other hand, were coming from a 5-1 win against León. As the table looks today, Necaxa are in 4th place in the table and have 12 points while Monterrey sit in 1st with 19 points after 8 matches.

Los Rayos started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, when Bryan Garnica gave Necaxa the lead in the 37th minute, saw out the first half 1-0.

Monterrey continued to pile on the pressure in the second and were rewarded, thanks to a goal from Erick Aguirre in the 56th minute. They then scored again, increasing their advantage thanks to a goal from Arturo Gonzalez at the 77 minute mark to make it 2-1.

Substitutions for Necaxa included Heriberto Jurado, Ricardo Monreal, Diego Gomez and Jose Godinez for Milton Gimenez, Angelo Araos, Bryan Garnica and Fernando Madrigal, repectively. Monterrey brought on Jesus Gallardo, German Berterame, Rodolfo Pizarro and Cesar Montes for Hector Moreno, Celso Ortiz, Rodrigo Aguirre and Erick Aguirre.

There were bookings for Milton Gimenez and Alexis Pena from Necaxa. For Monterrey, Erick Aguirre and Celso Ortiz saw yellow.

Next up, Necaxa are away to Puebla, whilst Monterrey will travel to face Deportivo Toluca.

Technical card:
Necaxa:Angel Malagon, Brian Garcia, Alexis Pena, Juan Pablo Segovia, Agustin Oliveros, Angelo Araos (Ricardo Monreal, min.80), Jose Jaoquin Esquivel, Fernando Madrigal (Jose Godinez, min.89), Bryan Garnica (Diego Gomez, min.89), Milton Gimenez (Heriberto Jurado, min.71) and Facundo Batista
Monterrey:Luis Cardenas, Stefan Medina, Sebastian Vegas, Hector Moreno (Jesus Gallardo, min.61), Erick Aguirre (Cesar Montes, min.77), Maximiliano Meza, Celso Ortiz (German Berterame, min.61), Luis Romo, Arturo Gonzalez, Rogelio Funes Mori and Rodrigo Aguirre (Rodolfo Pizarro, min.71)
Stadium:Estadio Victoria
Goals:Bryan Garnica (1-0, min. 37), Erick Aguirre (1-1, min. 56) and Arturo Gonzalez (1-2, min. 77)