Necaxa 3 – León 2: Los Rayos get hard fought win over Los Panzas Verdes

Photo Credit: AP

Necaxa enjoyed a home victory against León at Estadio Victoria on Saturday. Necaxa were on the hunt for more points after a scoreless draw against Tigres UANL in their previous match. León, meanwhile, were able to continue their winning streak after a 4-2 win against Atlas in their last match. Necaxa and León are 7th, (17 points) and 12th, (12 points), in the table respectively, after 12 matches.

Los Rayos started the match strongly, when Milton Gimenez found the net, at 34 minutes. Necaxa looked to have the match under control when they scored again and increased their lead, thanks to a goal from Facundo Batista on the 44 minute mark to establish a 2-0. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a calamitous own goal from Rodolfo Cota just before half-time, ending the first half 3-0.

Los Panzas Verdes took the lead in the second half, thanks to a goal from Victor Davila, 90 minutes in. However they weren’t finished yet and Victor Davila made it 3-2 just before the final whistle to make it 3-2.

Substitutions for Necaxa included Jose Godinez, Heriberto Jurado, Diego Gomez, Ricardo Monreal and Rogelio Cortez for Milton Gimenez, Angelo Araos, Vicente Poggi, Facundo Batista and Brian Garcia, respectively. León brought on Joel Campbell, Victor Davila, Yairo Moreno and Javier Ibarra, to replace Angel Mena, Federico Martinez, Elías Hernandez and Luis Montes.

There were bookings for Angel Malagon from Necaxa. For León, Julien Celestine saw yellow.

Necaxa will play their next fixture away against Santos Laguna, while León will face Juárez at home.

Technical card:
Necaxa:Angel Malagon, Brian Garcia (Rogelio Cortez, min.88), Juan Pablo Segovia, Alexis Pena, Agustin Oliveros, Angelo Araos (Heriberto Jurado, min.72), Vicente Poggi (Diego Gomez, min.72), Fernando Madrigal, Bryan Garnica, Milton Gimenez (Jose Godinez, min.64) and Facundo Batista (Ricardo Monreal, min.88)
León:Rodolfo Cota, Osvaldo Rodriguez, Byron Castillo, Julien Celestine, Elías Hernandez (Yairo Moreno, min.60), Luis Montes (Javier Ibarra, min.76), Jose Rodriguez, Fidel Daniel Ambriz Gonzalez, Angel Mena (Joel Campbell, min.59), Lucas Di Yorio and Federico Martinez (Victor Davila, min.59)
Stadium:Estadio Victoria
Goals:Milton Gimenez (1-0, min. 34), Facundo Batista (2-0, min. 44), Rodolfo Cota (3-0, min. 45), Victor Davila (3-1, min. 90) and Victor Davila (3-2, min. 90)