Mazatlán 1 – Querétaro 1: Cañoneros unable to break dead-lock with Los Gallos Blancos

Photo Credit: AP

On Wednesday, Mazatlán and Querétaro were held to a 1-1 draw at Estadio de Mazatlan. Mazatlán were keen to hang onto their position at the top of league and extend their winning run after winning their previous two matches in the league. The most recent was against the León away (3-0), the other to Guadalajara at home (2-1). Querétaro secured a point against Atl. San Luis in their previous match. After today’s result, Mazatlán are in 10th place, with 9 points from 9 matches, while Querétaro sit in 18th, with 3 points from 9.

Following a goalless first half, Querétaro fought back the second half, thanks to a goal from Raul Torres, 84 minutes in. In the end though, their lead was short lived, as Oswaldo Alanis equalised for Mazatlán just before the final whistle and saw the match end 1-1.

Substitutions for Mazatlán included Brian Rubio, Yoel Barcenas, Eduard Bello, Bryan Colula and Miguel Sansores for Gonzalo Sosa, Marco Fabian, Josue Colman, Carlos Vargas and Roberto Meraz, repectively. Querétaro brought on Juan Romagnoli, Angel Sepulveda, Jorge Hernandez, Raul Torres and Ettson Ayon for Pablo Barrera, Ariel Nahuelpan, Rodrigo Lopez, Kevin Balanta and Leonardo Sequeira.

There were bookings for Gonzalo Sosa from Mazatlán, and Rodrigo Lopez and Raul Torres, for Querétaro.

Mazatlán will next play Juárez away, with Querétaro facing Tijuana at home.

Technical card:
Mazatlán:Nicolas Vikonis, Jorge Antonio Padilla Leal, Oswaldo Alanis, Jorge Mere, Carlos Vargas (Bryan Colula, min.85), Marco Fabian (Yoel Barcenas, min.60), Roberto Meraz (Miguel Sansores, min.86), Jefferson Intriago, Josue Colman (Eduard Bello, min.72), Nicolas Benedetti and Gonzalo Sosa (Brian Rubio, min.60)
Querétaro:Jose Rodriguez, Omar Mendoza, Jordan Silva, Kevin Balanta (Raul Torres, min.81), Gabriel Rojas, Pablo Barrera (Juan Romagnoli, min.46), Rodrigo Lopez (Jorge Hernandez, min.63), Kevin Escamilla, Leonardo Sequeira (Ettson Ayon, min.82), Jose Angulo and Ariel Nahuelpan (Angel Sepulveda, min.63)
Stadium:Estadio de Mazatlan
Goals:Raul Torres (0-1, min. 84) and Oswaldo Alanis (1-1, min. 88)