Juárez 1 – Mazatlán 1: Plenty of goals but no win at Estadio Olimpico Benito Juarez

Photo Credit: AP

On Sunday, Juárez and Mazatlán were held to a 1-1 draw at Estadio Olimpico Benito Juarez. With both teams drawing in their previous fixtures, they were keen to pick up points. Juárez arrived with the intention of increasing their league score following a 1-1 draw with Atl. San Luis in their previous game. Mazatlán secured a point against Querétaro in their previous match. As it stands, both teams are on 11 points and sit in 10th and 11th places respectively after 10 matches.

Mazatlán started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, when Emilio Sanchez found the net, 10 minutes in. However, their celebrations were kept brief, as Gabriel Fernandez equalised for Juárez just before halftime, concluding the first half 1-1. Both teams struggled to produce anything meaningful in the second half, leaving the final score at 1-1.

Substitutions for Juárez included Carlos Fierro, Mauro Lainez, Jaime Gomez and Fernando Arce for Alan Medina, Alberto Acosta, Jesus Duenas and Matias Garcia, repectively. Mazatlán brought on Josue Colman, Miguel Sansores, Roberto Meraz, Marco Fabian and Gonzalo Sosa, to replace Andres Montano, Eduard Bello, Emilio Sanchez, Nicolas Benedetti and Brian Rubio.

The referee booked seven players. Matias Garcia, Gabriel Fernandez and Fernando Arce from Juárez, who saw yellow cards and Maximiliano Silvera, sent off with a red, as well as for Mazatlán Nestor Vicente Vidrio, Jefferson Intriago and Josue Colman also seeing yellows.

Juárez next face Pumas and Mazatlán are at home to América.

Technical card:
Juárez:Alfredo Talavera, Alberto Acosta (Mauro Lainez, min.76), Emiliano Velazquez, Carlos Salcedo, Maximiliano Olivera, Alan Medina (Carlos Fierro, min.64), Jesus Duenas (Jaime Gomez, min.89), Javier Salas, Matias Garcia (Fernando Arce, min.89), Maximiliano Silvera and Gabriel Fernandez
Mazatlán:Nicolas Vikonis, Bryan Colula, Oswaldo Alanis, Nestor Vicente Vidrio, Carlos Vargas, Eduard Bello (Miguel Sansores, min.74), Nicolas Benedetti (Marco Fabian, min.83), Jefferson Intriago, Emilio Sanchez (Roberto Meraz, min.74), Andres Montano (Josue Colman, min.58) and Brian Rubio (Gonzalo Sosa, min.83)
Stadium:Estadio Olimpico Benito Juarez
Goals:Emilio Sanchez (0-1, min. 10) and Gabriel Fernandez (1-1, min. 47)