Juárez 1 – Toluca 1: Estadio Olimpico Benito Juarez sees frustrating draw

Photo Credit: AP

Juárez were held to 1-1 draw by Toluca down on Saturday at Estadio Olimpico Benito Juarez. Juárez arrived at the match looking pick up points, following a previous defeat to Tigres UANL while Toluca were hoping to increase their winning streak after back-to-back victories against León and Santos Laguna. After today’s result, Juárez are in 10th place in the table and have 6 points while Toluca sit in 1st with 13 points after 6 matches.

Following a goalless first half, Los Bravos took the initiative in the second half, thanks to a goal from Maximiliano Olivera in the 88th minute. In the end though, their celebrations were kept brief, as Jean Meneses equalised for Toluca just before the final whistle and saw the match end 1-1.

Substitutions for Juárez included Alan Medina, Diego Rolan, Maximiliano Silvera and Fernando Arce for Jaime Gomez, Jesus Duenas, Mauro Lainez and Matias Garcia, repectively. Toluca brought on Jean Meneses, Carlos Gonzales, Fernando Navarro, Sebastian Saucedo and Alan Rodriguez for Jordan Sierra, Camilo Da Silva, Carlos Guzman, Daniel Alvarez and Marcel Ruiz.

The referee booked Mauro Lainez, Alan Medina and Diego Rolan from Juárez. Toluca had the worst of it though, with Haret Ortega, Jorge Rodriguez and Fernando Navarro seeing yellow, and Sebastian Saucedo then sent off with a red.

Juárez will next travel to América, while Toluca will face Tijuana at home.

Technical card:
Juárez:Alfredo Talavera, Alberto Acosta, Carlos Salcedo, Alejandro Arribas, Maximiliano Olivera, Jaime Gomez (Alan Medina, min.46), Javier Salas, Jesus Duenas (Diego Rolan, min.76), Mauro Lainez (Maximiliano Silvera, min.85), Matias Garcia (Fernando Arce, min.85) and Gabriel Fernandez
Deportivo Toluca:Tiago Volpi, Carlos Guzman (Fernando Navarro, min.58), Valber Huerta, Andres Mosquera, Haret Ortega, Daniel Alvarez (Sebastian Saucedo, min.66), Claudio Baeza, Jordan Sierra (Jean Meneses, min.58), Marcel Ruiz (Alan Rodriguez, min.66), Jorge Rodriguez and Camilo Da Silva (Carlos Gonzales, min.58)
Stadium:Estadio Olimpico Benito Juarez
Goals:Maximiliano Olivera (1-0, min. 88) and Jean Meneses (1-1, min. 90)