Juárez 2 – Cruz Azul 2: Points shared with visitors at Estadio Olimpico Benito Juarez

Photo Credit: AP

Juárez were helde ach other to a 2-2 draw by Cruz Azul on Saturday at Estadio Olimpico Benito Juarez. Juárez were aiming to improve their league standing after a 1-1 draw against Atl. San Luis whilst Cruz Azul were coming off the back of a 2-1 win against Querétaro. Juárez are currently 12th with 13 points from 12 matches, while Cruz Azul sit in 14th, with 12 points from 12.

Cruz Azul found the net first, when Michael Estrada gave them the lead, at 42 minutes. However they weren’t finished yet and Gonzalo Carneiro made it 2-0 just before half-time, finishing the first half 2-0.

Juárez took the lead in the second half, with a goal from Dario Lezcano in the 86th minute. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a penalty goal from Darwin Machis just before the final whistle to give a final score of 2-2.

Substitutions for Juárez included Francisco Nevarez, Mauro Lainez, Darwin Machis, Dario Lezcano and Denzell Garcia for Alberto Acosta, Carlos Fierro, Jesus Duenas, Gabriel Fernandez and Matias Garcia, respectively. Cruz Azul brought on Cristian Jimenez, Christian Tabo, Rodrigo Huescas, Jorge Garcia and Carlos Rodriguez for Ignacio Rivero, Gonzalo Carneiro, Jose Martinez, Angel Romero and Michael Estrada.

The referee booked ten players. Mauro Lainez and Carlos Salcedo from Juárez, who saw yellow cards and Javier Salas, sent off with a red, as well as for Cruz Azul Gonzalo Carneiro, Ignacio Rivero, Jose Martinez, Angel Romero, Jorge Garcia, Julio Cesar Dominguez and Jaiber Jimenez received yellows.

Juárez will next play Pumas at home, with Cruz Azul facing Monterrey away.

Technical card:
Juárez:Alfredo Talavera, Maximiliano Olivera, Carlos Salcedo, Alberto Acosta (Francisco Nevarez, min.54), Emiliano Velazquez, Matias Garcia (Denzell Garcia, min.82), Carlos Fierro (Mauro Lainez, min.54), Javier Salas, Jesus Duenas (Darwin Machis, min.70), Alan Medina and Gabriel Fernandez (Dario Lezcano, min.80)
Cruz Azul:Jose de Jesus Corona, Rafael Guerrero, Julio Cesar Dominguez, Jose Martinez (Rodrigo Huescas, min.55), Jaiber Jimenez, Angel Romero (Jorge Garcia, min.72), Carlos Rotondi, Ignacio Rivero (Cristian Jimenez, min.54), Erik Lira, Michael Estrada (Carlos Rodriguez, min.73) and Gonzalo Carneiro (Christian Tabo, min.54)
Stadium:Estadio Olimpico Benito Juarez
Goals:Michael Estrada (0-1, min. 42), Gonzalo Carneiro (0-2, min. 45), Dario Lezcano (1-2, min. 86) and Darwin Machis (2-2, min. 90)