Juárez 1 – San Luis 1: Plenty of goals but no win at Estadio Olimpico Benito Juarez

Photo Credit: AP

Juárez were held to 1-1 draw by San Luis down on Thursday at Estadio Olimpico Benito Juarez. With both teams drawing in their previous fixtures, they were keen to pick up points. Juárez wanted to improve their league standing after a 1-1 draw against Deportivo Toluca. San Luis, on the other hand, had managed to pick up a single point in their matchup with Puebla. As things stand, both teams are on 7 points and occupy 12th and 13th places respectively after 16 matches.

It was an impressive opening from “Los Atléticos”, when Sabin Merino found the net, 22 minutes in, ending the first half 1-0.

Juárez took the lead in the second half, with a goal from Alan Medina in the 57th minute. The final result, Juárez 1, San Luis 1.

Substitutions for Juárez included Alan Medina, Diego Rolan and Dario Lezcano for Mauro Lainez, Matias Garcia and Gabriel Fernandez, repectively. San Luis brought on Rodrigo Dourado, Vitinho, Juan Castro, Alejandro Organista and Abel Hernandez, to replace Javier Guemez, Jhon Murillo, Rubens Sambueza, Facundo Waller and Sabin Merino.

There were bookings for Carlos Salcedo, Alfredo Talavera and Matias Garcia from Juárez. For San Luis, Javier Guemez saw yellow.

San Luis and Juárez will next play at home to Tigres UANL and Pumas respectively.

Technical card:
Juárez:Alfredo Talavera, Carlos Salcedo, Alberto Acosta, Alejandro Arribas, Maximiliano Olivera, Mauro Lainez (Alan Medina, min.46), Jesus Duenas, Javier Salas, Matias Garcia (Diego Rolan, min.79), Maximiliano Silvera and Gabriel Fernandez (Dario Lezcano, min.79)
Atl. San Luis:Marcelo Barovero, Ramon Juarez, Rodrigo Gonzalez, Aldo Cruz, Facundo Waller (Alejandro Organista, min.82), Javier Guemez (Rodrigo Dourado, min.62), Juan Sanabria, Rubens Sambueza (Juan Castro, min.69), Ricardo Chavez, Sabin Merino (Abel Hernandez, min.82) and Jhon Murillo (Vitinho, min.68)
Stadium:Estadio Olimpico Benito Juarez
Goals:Sabin Merino (0-1, min. 22) and Alan Medina (1-1, min. 57)