Guadalajara 3 – Pumas 1: Points secure for Las Chivas at Estadio Akron

Photo Credit: AP

Guadalajara snatched all three points from Pumas in a 3-1 victory on Sunday, at Estadio Akron. Chivas were looking to pick up points after winning their previous two games against Monterrey at home and Necaxa away, by 1-0 and 4-0 respectively. UNAM were unable to beat Tigres UANL in a 1-1 draw. As it stands, Chivas are in 7th place, with 15 points from 11 matches, while UNAM sit in 17th, with 9 points from 11.

UNAM started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, with an early goal from Diogo de Oliveira in the 3rd minute. However, they were unable to maintain their lead, Jesus Orozco managed to equalize and take the sides off, 15 minutes in at 1-1. The momentum was now with Las Chivas, who then scored again through a goal from Alexis Vega at the 38 minute mark to establish a 2-1. However they weren’t finished yet and Angel Zaldívar made it 3-1 just before halftime. The score at half time was 3-1. Both teams struggled to produce anything meaningful in the second half, leaving the final score at 3-1.

Substitutions for Chivas included Carlos Cisneros, Santiago Ormeno, Pavel Perez, Alan Torres and Ruben Gonzalez for Jesus Sanchez, Angel Zaldívar, Isaac Brizuela, Sergio Flores and Fernando Beltran, repectively. UNAM replaced Leonel Lopez, Jero Rodriguez, Pablo Bennevendo and Gustavo Del Prete for Higor Meritao, Cesar Huerta, Marco Garcia and Jorge Antonio Ruvalcaba Castro.

There were bookings for Jesus Sanchez and Gilberto Sepulveda from Chivas. For UNAM, Diogo de Oliveira and Dani Alves saw yellow.

UNAM and Chivas will next play away to Juárez and Cruz Azul respectively.

Technical card:
Guadalajara:Miguel Jimenez, Jesus Sanchez (Carlos Cisneros, min.53), Luis Olivas, Gilberto Sepulveda, Jesus Orozco, Isaac Brizuela (Pavel Perez, min.67), Fernando Beltran (Ruben Gonzalez, min.77), Sergio Flores (Alan Torres, min.77), Alexis Vega, Roberto Alvarado and Angel Zaldívar (Santiago Ormeno, min.65)
Pumas:Gil Alcala, Pablo Bennevendo (Marco Garcia, min.71), Adrian Aldrete, Nicolas Freire, Jero Rodriguez (Cesar Huerta, min.46), Jose Caicedo, Leonel Lopez (Higor Meritao, min.46), Dani Alves, Diogo de Oliveira, Juan Dinenno and Gustavo Del Prete (Jorge Antonio Ruvalcaba Castro, min.77)
Stadium:Estadio Akron
Goals:Diogo de Oliveira (0-1, min. 3), Jesus Orozco (1-1, min. 15), Alexis Vega (2-1, min. 38) and Angel Zaldívar (3-1, min. 40)