Toluca 3 – Xolos 1: Points secure as Los Diablos Rojos ease past Los Xolos

Photo Credit: AP

Tijuana on away loss to Toluca at Estadio Nemesio Diez on Sunday. Toluca wanted to continue adding points after a 1-1 draw against Puebla. Xolos were hoping to increase their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Mazatlán and Atlas. As it stands, Toluca are currently 3rd with 14 points from 7 matches, while Xolos sit in 6th, with 10 points from 7.

It was an impressive opening from Xolos, when Edgar Lopez found the net in the 24th minute. However, their lead was short lived, as Carlos Gonzales equalised for Los Diablos Rojos at the 35 minute mark, ending the first half 1-1.

Toluca started strong in the second half and were able to dominate, with an early goal from Jean Meneses in the 49th minute. Toluca then scored once more and increased their advantage thanks to a penalty goal from Camilo Da Silva just before the final whistle with a final score of 3-1.

Substitutions for Toluca included Daniel Alvarez, Sebastian Saucedo, Camilo Da Silva, Aldo Llanas and Isaias Violante for Fernando Navarro, Jean Meneses, Carlos Gonzales, Claudio Baeza and Leonardo Fernandez, repectively. Xolos brought on Franco Di Santo and Abraham Flores for Joaquin Montecinos and Edgar Lopez.

The referee booked Claudio Baeza from Toluca. Xolos had the worst of it though, with Nicolas Diaz and Alexis Canelo seeing yellow, and Nicolas Diaz (2 yellow cards) then sent off with a red.

Xolos and Toluca will next play at home to Puebla and Querétaro respectively.

Technical card:
Deportivo Toluca:Tiago Volpi, Andres Mosquera, Haret Ortega, Valber Huerta, Brayan Angulo, Leonardo Fernandez (Isaias Violante, min.89), Claudio Baeza (Aldo Llanas, min.89), Marcel Ruiz, Fernando Navarro (Daniel Alvarez, min.68), Jean Meneses (Sebastian Saucedo, min.78) and Carlos Gonzales (Camilo Da Silva, min.78)
Tijuana:Jonathan Orozco, Ismael Govea, Lisandro Lopez, Víctor Guzman, Nicolas Diaz, Joaquin Montecinos (Franco Di Santo, min.69), Jose Vazquez, Federico Lertora, Lucas Rodriguez, Edgar Lopez (Abraham Flores, min.75) and Alexis Canelo
Stadium:Estadio Nemesio Diez
Goals:Edgar Lopez (0-1, min. 24), Carlos Gonzales (1-1, min. 35), Jean Meneses (2-1, min. 49) and Camilo Da Silva (3-1, min. 90)