Toluca 1 – Monterrey 1: Los Diablos Rojos unable to break dead-lock with Rayados

Photo Credit: AP

On Thursday, Toluca and Monterrey were held to a 1-1 draw at Estadio Nemesio Diez. Toluca arrived with the intention of increasing their league score following a disappointing 1-1 draw with Puebla in their previous game whilst Monterrey were coming from consecutive wins against Necaxa and León. As things stand, Toluca are currently 1st with 21 points from 9 matches, while Monterrey sit in 1st, with 20 points from 9.

Toluca started strongly in the first half, when Leonardo Fernandez found the net at the 27 minute mark, which saw the first half end 1-0.

Rayados took the initiative in the second half, with a goal from Rodrigo Aguirre in the 71st minute. The match ended wih a 1-1 draw.

Substitutions for Toluca included Raul Lopez, Jordan Sierra, Camilo Da Silva, Daniel Alvarez and Jorge Torres for Fernando Navarro, Haret Ortega, Jean Meneses, Leonardo Fernandez and Andres Mosquera, repectively. Monterrey brought on Arturo Gonzalez, German Berterame, Maximiliano Meza, Rogelio Funes Mori and Cesar Montes for Sebastian Vegas, Rodolfo Pizarro, Jacobo Reyes, Celso Ortiz and Rogelio Funes Mori.

There were bookings for Leonardo Fernandez and Haret Ortega from Toluca. For Monterrey, Sebastian Vegas, Jacobo Reyes and Maximiliano Meza saw yellow.

Monterrey and Toluca will next play at home to Tigres UANL and Querétaro respectively.

Technical card:
Deportivo Toluca:Tiago Volpi, Andres Mosquera (Jorge Torres, min.90), Haret Ortega (Jordan Sierra, min.63), Valber Huerta, Brayan Angulo, Leonardo Fernandez (Daniel Alvarez, min.77), Fernando Navarro (Raul Lopez, min.63), Marcel Ruiz, Claudio Baeza, Jean Meneses (Camilo Da Silva, min.77) and Carlos Gonzales
Monterrey:Esteban Andrada, Edson Gutierrez, Sebastian Vegas (Arturo Gonzalez, min.48), Luis Sanchez, Jesus Gallardo, Celso Ortiz (Rogelio Funes Mori, min.61), Matias Kranevitter, Luis Romo, Rodrigo Aguirre, Jacobo Reyes (Maximiliano Meza, min.50) and Rodolfo Pizarro (German Berterame, min.48)
Stadium:Estadio Nemesio Diez
Goals:Leonardo Fernandez (1-0, min. 27) and Rodrigo Aguirre (1-1, min. 71)