Cruz Azul 1 – Xolos 2: Los Xolos travel to Estadio Azteca and seal win

Photo Credit: AP

Tijuana enjoyed a mesmerising away victory against Cruz Azul at Estadio Azteca on Thursday. Cruz Azul were looking to get back their winning ways after losing their last match 3-2 to Deportivo Toluca whilst Xolos secured a point against Puebla in their previous match. As it stands, Cruz Azul are currently 15th with 8 points from 9 matches, while Xolos sit in 4th, with 14 points from 9.

Cruz Azul started the first half well, with a goal from Ignacio Rivero, at 21 minutes. However, their celebrations were kept brief, as Ramiro Funes Mori equalised for Los Xolos, 24 minutes in, to take a 1-1 lead into half time.

Xolos continued to pile on the pressure in the second and were rewarded, thanks to a goal from Franco Di Santo at the 66 minute mark. The final result, Cruz Azul 1, Xolos 2.

Substitutions for Cruz Azul included Alonso Escoboza, Gonzalo Carneiro, Christian Tabo, Angel Romero and Rodrigo Huescas for Luis Abram, Michael Estrada, Julio Cesar Dominguez, Carlos Rotondi and Uriel Antuna, repectively. Xolos brought on Renato Ibarra, Franco Di Santo, Francisco Contreras and Christian Rivera, to replace Joaquin Montecinos, Edgar Lopez, Alexis Canelo and Víctor Guzman.

The referee booked Lisandro Lopez and Joaquin Montecinos for Xolos.

Next up, Cruz Azul are away to América, whilst Xolos will travel to face Querétaro.

Technical card:
Cruz Azul:Sebastian Jurado, Juan Escobar, Julio Cesar Dominguez (Christian Tabo, min.76), Ramiro Funes Mori, Luis Abram (Alonso Escoboza, min.59), Uriel Antuna (Rodrigo Huescas, min.84), Ignacio Rivero, Rafael Baca, Carlos Rodriguez, Carlos Rotondi (Angel Romero, min.76) and Michael Estrada (Gonzalo Carneiro, min.59)
Tijuana:Jonathan Orozco, Ismael Govea, Víctor Guzman (Christian Rivera, min.90), Lisandro Lopez, Nicolas Diaz, Joaquin Montecinos (Renato Ibarra, min.62), Federico Lertora, Jose Vazquez, Lucas Rodriguez, Edgar Lopez (Franco Di Santo, min.63) and Alexis Canelo (Francisco Contreras, min.78)
Stadium:Estadio Azteca
Goals:Ignacio Rivero (1-0, min. 21), Ramiro Funes Mori (1-1, min. 24) and Franco Di Santo (1-2, min. 66)