Cruz Azul 2 – Toluca 3: La Máquina suffer home defeat to Los Diablos Rojos

Photo Credit: AP

Cruz Azul on Monday lost to Deportivo Toluca on a home defeat at Estadio Azteca. Cruz Azul arrived at the match looking pick up points, following a previous defeat to Santos Laguna while Toluca are struggling for form following a draw in their last match. As the table looks today, Cruz Azul and Toluca currently occupy 14th and 2nd spots in the table, with 8 points and 17 points respectively after 8 matches.

It was an impressive opening from Cruz Azul, when Ramiro Funes Mori found the net at the 18 minute mark. However, their lead didn’t last for long, Jean Meneses producing an equaliser at the 30 minute mark, bringing Los Diablos Rojos level. Toluca then netted once more and turned the match thanks to a goal from Marcel Ruiz just before halftime, ending the first half 2-1.

La Máquina took the initiative in the second half, with a goal from Rodrigo Huescas, 82 minutes in. Toluca managed to edge ahead with a penalty goal from Camilo Da Silva just before the final whistle. The match ended with a 3-2 win for Toluca.

Substitutions for Cruz Azul included Rafael Baca, Rodrigo Huescas, Gonzalo Carneiro, Alonso Escoboza and Angel Romero for Erik Lira, Christian Tabo, Julio Cesar Dominguez, Luis Abram and Carlos Rotondi, repectively. Toluca brought on Daniel Alvarez, Camilo Da Silva, Jordan Sierra, and for Jean Meneses, Carlos Gonzales, Leonardo Fernandez, and.

The referee booked seven players. Gonzalo Carneiro, Rafael Baca, Ignacio Rivero and Uriel Antuna from Cruz Azul, who saw yellow cards and Sebastian Jurado, sent off with a red, as well as for Toluca Valber Huerta and Tiago Volpi also seeing yellows.

Cruz Azul next face Tijuana and Toluca are at home to Querétaro.

Technical card:
Cruz Azul:Sebastian Jurado, Juan Escobar, Julio Cesar Dominguez (Gonzalo Carneiro, min.58), Luis Abram (Alonso Escoboza, min.79), Ignacio Rivero, Uriel Antuna, Erik Lira (Rafael Baca, min.58), Carlos Rodriguez, Christian Tabo (Rodrigo Huescas, min.58), Carlos Rotondi (Angel Romero, min.84) and Ramiro Funes Mori
Deportivo Toluca:Tiago Volpi, Andres Mosquera, Haret Ortega, Valber Huerta, Brayan Angulo, Leonardo Fernandez (Jordan Sierra, min.77), Fernando Navarro, Claudio Baeza, Marcel Ruiz, Jean Meneses (Daniel Alvarez, min.77) and Carlos Gonzales (Camilo Da Silva, min.77)
Stadium:Estadio Azteca
Goals:Ramiro Funes Mori (1-0, min. 18), Jean Meneses (1-1, min. 30), Marcel Ruiz (1-2, min. 43), Rodrigo Huescas (2-2, min. 82) and Camilo Da Silva (2-3, min. 90)