Villarreal 0-2 Mallorca: The Vermilions blank Villarreal in strong performance

Photo Credit: AP

Mallorca strolled past Villarreal with a 2-0 win on Sunday at the Estadio de la Ceramica. Villarreal were hoping to get something from this game after losing their last match 1-0 to Athletic Bilbao whilst Mallorca were struggling for form following a draw in their last match. Villarreal and Mallorca currently occupy 8th and 12th spots in the table, with 18 points and 16 points respectively after 13 matches.

Mallorca found the net first, when Vedat Muriqi gave them the lead on the 32 minute mark, to take a 1-0 lead into half time.

The Vermilions continued to apply pressure in the second period and were rewarded, when Amath Ndiaye found the net in the 75th minute. The final result, Villarreal 0, Mallorca 2.

Substitutions for Villarreal included Nicolas Jackson, Yeremi Pino, Jose Luis Morales and Johan Mojica for Manu Trigueros, Alex Baena, Etienne Capoue and Alberto Moreno, respectively. Mallorca brought on Amath Ndiaye, Antonio Sanchez, Rodrigo Battaglia, Abdon and Clement Grenier, to replace Kang In Lee, Dani Rodriguez, Inigo Ruiz de Galarreta, Vedat Muriqi and Iddrisu Baba.

There were bookings for Samuel Chukwueze, Alberto Moreno, Alex Baena and Pau Torres from Villarreal. For Mallorca, Iddrisu Baba, Giovanni Gonzalez, Kang In Lee, Dani Rodriguez, Vedat Muriqi and Jaume Costa saw yellow.

Villarreal will next travel to Espanyol, while Mallorca will face Atletico Madrid at home.

Technical card:
Villarreal:Geronimo Rulli, Kiko Femenia, Raul Albiol, Pau Torres, Alberto Moreno (Johan Mojica, min.90), Samuel Chukwueze, Etienne Capoue (Jose Luis Morales, min.90), Dani Parejo, Alex Baena (Yeremi Pino, min.64), Manu Trigueros (Nicolas Jackson, min.46) and Arnaut Danjuma
Mallorca:Predrag Rajkovic, Giovanni Gonzalez, Copete, Matija Nastasic, Martin Valjent, Jaume Costa, Dani Rodriguez (Antonio Sanchez, min.72), Iddrisu Baba (Clement Grenier, min.90), Inigo Ruiz de Galarreta (Rodrigo Battaglia, min.87), Kang In Lee (Amath Ndiaye, min.72) and Vedat Muriqi (Abdon, min.88)
Stadium:the Estadio de la Ceramica
Goals:Vedat Muriqi (0-1, min. 32) and Amath Ndiaye (0-2, min. 75)