Valencia 3-0 Celta: Valencia on song as they sink The Sky Blues

Photo Credit: AP

Valencia suffered an away loss to Valencia on Saturday at the Mestalla. Both Valencia and Celta came from defeats in their previous league games. Valencia arrived at the match looking to pick up more points after losing their last match 2-1 to Rayo Vallecano. Celta were beaten 4-1 in their previous match against Atletico Madrid. Valencia and Celta currently occupy 13th and 11th spots in the table, with 6 points and 7 points respectively after 6 matches.

It was an impressive opening from The Bats, when Samu Castillejo opened the rout in the 37th minute, finishing the first half 1-0.

Valencia continued to pile on the pressure in the second half and were rewarded, with a goal from Marcos De Sousa on the 82 minute mark. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a goal from Andre Almeida just before the final whistle to make it 3-0.

Substitutions for Valencia included Nicolas Gonzalez, Justin Kluivert, Marcos De Sousa, Gabriel Paulista and Lato Toni for Moriba Ilaix, Edinson Cavani, Samu Castillejo, Eray Comert and Jose Luis Gaya, respectively. Celta brought on Carles Perez, Gabriel Veiga and Luca de la Torre for Fran Beltran, Oscar and Jorgen Strand Larsen.

The referee booked Hugo Guillamon, Lino and Samu Castillejo from Valencia. Celta had the worst of it though, with Fran Beltran and Gabriel Veiga seeing yellow, and Franco Cervi then sent off with a red.

Valencia will next travel to Espanyol, while Celta will face Real Betis at home.

Technical card:
Valencia:Giorgi Mamardashvili, Thierry Correia, Eray Comert (Gabriel Paulista, min.84), Mouctar Diakhaby, Jose Luis Gaya (Lato Toni, min.84), Andre Almeida, Hugo Guillamon, Moriba Ilaix (Nicolas Gonzalez, min.67), Lino, Edinson Cavani (Justin Kluivert, min.71) and Samu Castillejo (Marcos De Sousa, min.71)
Celta Vigo:Agustin Marchesin, Hugo Mallo, Unai Nunez, Joseph Aidoo, Javi Galan, Franco Cervi, Fran Beltran (Carles Perez, min.57), Renato Tapia, Oscar (Gabriel Veiga, min.57), Iago Aspas and Jorgen Strand Larsen (Luca de la Torre, min.83)
Stadium:the Mestalla
Goals:Samu Castillejo (1-0, min. 37), Marcos De Sousa (2-0, min. 82) and Andre Almeida (3-0, min. 90)