Sevilla 1-1 Valencia: Victory beyond reach for Los Nervionenses

Photo Credit: AP

Sevilla were held to a 1-1 draw by Valencia on Tuesday at the Estadio Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan. Seville were keen to hang onto their position at the top of the table and extend their winning run, following a 1-0 victory against Mallorca. Valencia, meanwhile, were struggling for form following a draw in their last match. Seville are now in 11th place on the table and have 10 points while Valencia sit in 8th with 15 points after 10 matches.

The first half of the match started favourably for Valencia, thanks to a goal from Edinson Cavani early in the first half. The first half ended 1-0.

Los Nervionenses took the lead in the second half, when Erik Lamela found the net just before the full time. The match ended wih a 1-1 draw.

Substitutions for Seville included Jesus Navas, Thomas Delaney, Erik Lamela, Kike Salas and Ivan Rakitic for Jose Carmona, Marcos Acuna, Gonzalo Montiel, Nianzou Tanguy Kouassi and Isco, respectively. Valencia brought on Justin Kluivert, Marcos De Sousa, Nicolas Gonzalez, Gabriel Paulista and Andre Almeida, to replace Lino, Edinson Cavani, Dimitri Foulquier, Moriba Ilaix and Yunus Musah.

The referee booked twelve players. Thomas Delaney, Kike Salas, Ivan Rakitic and Papu Gomez from Seville, who saw yellow cards and Kike Salas, sent off with a red, as well as for Valencia Lino, Dimitri Foulquier, Nicolas Gonzalez, Justin Kluivert, Mouctar Diakhaby, Marcos De Sousa and Jose Luis Gaya also seeing yellows.

Seville will next play R Madrid away, with Valencia facing Mallorca at home.

Technical card:
Seville:Bono, Gonzalo Montiel (Erik Lamela, min.46), Nianzou Tanguy Kouassi (Kike Salas, min.58), Jose Carmona (Jesus Navas, min.31), Marcos Acuna (Thomas Delaney, min.46), Oliver Torres, Nemanja Gudelj, Isco (Ivan Rakitic, min.70), Alex Telles, Rafa Mir and Papu Gomez
Valencia:Giorgi Mamardashvili, Dimitri Foulquier (Nicolas Gonzalez, min.72), Mouctar Diakhaby, Eray Comert, Jose Luis Gaya, Yunus Musah (Andre Almeida, min.75), Hugo Guillamon, Moriba Ilaix (Gabriel Paulista, min.75), Thierry Correia, Edinson Cavani (Marcos De Sousa, min.63) and Lino (Justin Kluivert, min.63)
Stadium:the Estadio Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan
Goals:Edinson Cavani (0-1, min. 6) and Erik Lamela (1-1, min. 86)