Sevilla 0-1 Rayo Vallecano: Garcia goal silences the Estadio Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan

Photo Credit: AP

Rayo Vallecano defeated Seville 1-0 on Saturday at the Estadio Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan. Seville arrived at the match looking to pick up more points after losing their last match 3-1 to R Madrid. Rayo were able to continue their winning streak after a 5-1 win against Cádiz in their last match. Seville and Rayo currently occupy 17th and 8th spots in the league, with 10 points and 18 points respectively after 12 matches.

After an uneventful first half, Rayo continued to pile on the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, when Alvaro Garcia found the net, 61 minutes in. When the final whistle blew, the result was 1-0 to Rayo.

Substitutions for Seville included Papu Gomez, Rafa Mir, Suso, Marcos Acuna and Jesus Navas for Adnan Januzaj, Ivan Rakitic, Oliver Torres, Alex Telles and Gonzalo Montiel, respectively. Rayo brought on Pathe Ciss, Salvi Sanchez, Pep Chavarria, Pablo Munoz and Esteban Saveljich, to replace Unai Lopez, Isi Palazon, Sergio Camello, Santi Comesana and Alvaro Garcia.

There were bookings for Isco, Suso, Marko Dmitrovic, Bono, Jesus Navas and Marcao from Seville. For Rayo, Alejandro Catena saw yellow.

Seville will next play Real Betis away, with Rayo facing R Madrid at home.

Technical card:
Seville:Marko Dmitrovic, Gonzalo Montiel (Jesus Navas, min.81), Marcao, Nemanja Gudelj, Alex Telles (Marcos Acuna, min.59), Oliver Torres (Suso, min.59), Ivan Rakitic (Rafa Mir, min.46), Joan Jordan, Adnan Januzaj (Papu Gomez, min.46), Isco, Erik Lamela and Bono
Rayo Vallecano:Stole Dimitrievski, Ivan Balliu, Alejandro Catena, Florian Lejeune, Francisco Garcia, Isi Palazon (Salvi Sanchez, min.73), Unai Lopez (Pathe Ciss, min.67), Santi Comesana (Pablo Munoz, min.90), Óscar Valentín, Alvaro Garcia (Esteban Saveljich, min.90) and Sergio Camello (Pep Chavarria, min.73)
Stadium:the Estadio Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan
Goals:Alvaro Garcia (0-1, min. 61)