Valladolid 4-1 Celta: Hosts impress with big win at José Zorrilla

Photo Credit: AP

Real Valladolid beat Celta Vigo with a 4-1 victory on Wednesday at José Zorrilla. Both Valladolid and Celta arrived at the match with previous defeats in the league. Valladolid arrived at the match looking to pick up more points, following defeat to Espanyol, while Celta were beaten 2-1 in their previous match against Real Sociedad. Valladolid are currently 11th with 11 points from 10 matches, while Celta sit in 13th, with 10 points from 10.

It was an impressive opening from Valladolid, when Roque Mesa opened the rout on the 32 minute mark. However, their celebrations were kept brief, as Oscar equalised for Celta just before half-time, finishing the first half 1-1.

Pucelle rallied after this and were rewarded, when Joaquin Fernandez gave them the lead, at 62 minutes. Valladolid looked to have the match under control when they scored again and increased their lead, thanks to a goal from Sergio Leon on the 74 minute mark to establish a 3-1. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a second effort from Sergio Leon, 79 minutes in to make it 4-1.

Substitutions for Valladolid included Oscar Plano, Sergio Leon, Gonzalo Plata, Jawad El Yamiq and Mickael Malsa for Kike Perez, Sergi Guardiola, Shon Weissman, Javi Sanchez and Roque Mesa, respectively. Celta replaced Carles Perez and Gabriel Veiga with Franco Cervi and Renato Tapia.

There were bookings for Jordi Masip from Valladolid, and Oscar, for Celta.

Valladolid next face Real Sociedad while Celta are at home to Getafe.

Technical card:
Real Valladolid:Jordi Masip, Joaquin Fernandez, Zouhair Feddal, Javi Sanchez (Jawad El Yamiq, min.72), Lucas Rosa, Alvaro Aguado, Roque Mesa (Mickael Malsa, min.82), Kike Perez (Oscar Plano, min.60), Lucas Olaza, Sergi Guardiola (Sergio Leon, min.60) and Shon Weissman (Gonzalo Plata, min.72)
Celta Vigo:Agustin Marchesin, Hugo Mallo, Óscar Mingueza, Joseph Aidoo, Javi Galan, Oscar, Fran Beltran, Renato Tapia (Gabriel Veiga, min.67), Franco Cervi (Carles Perez, min.67), Jorgen Strand Larsen and Iago Aspas
Stadium:José Zorrilla
Goals:Roque Mesa (1-0, min. 32), Oscar (1-1, min. 43), Joaquin Fernandez (2-1, min. 62), Sergio Leon (3-1, min. 74) and Sergio Leon (4-1, min. 79)