Betis 3-1 Almería: The Green-and-Whites deliver decisive win

Photo Credit: AP

Almería fell to an away defeat at the hands of Real Betis at the Estadio Benito Villamarin on Sunday. Betis were aiming to improve their league standing after a scoreless draw against Real Valladolid in their previous match. Almería were able to continue their winning streak after a 3-1 win against Rayo Vallecano in their last match. Betis and Almería currently occupy 4th and 18th spots in the table, with 19 points and 7 points respectively after 9 matches.

The Green-and-Whites scored first, with a goal from William Carvalho on the 23 minute mark to see them go in at half time 1-0 up.

Almería started the second half with renewed vigour, when El Bilal Toure found the net on the 52 minute mark. However, each side looked hungry to win and Betis then found the back of the net, at 66 minutes thanks to Borja Iglesias, taking the score to 2-1. However they weren’t finished yet and William Carvalho made it 3-1, 71 minutes in to give a final score of 3-1.

Substitutions for Betis included Joaquin, Juan Cruz, Andres Guardado, Willian Jose and Aitor Ruibal for Luiz Henrique, Rodri, Sergio Canales, Borja Iglesias and William Carvalho, respectively. Almería brought on Lucas Robertone, Dyego Sousa, Lazaro, Francisco Portillo and Pozo for Gonzalo Melero, El Bilal Toure, Leo Baptistao, Largie Ramazani and Houboulang Mendes.

There were bookings for Sergio Canales from Betis. For Almería, Gonzalo Melero saw yellow.

Betis will next travel to Cádiz, while Almería will face Girona at home.

Technical card:
Real Betis:Rui Silva, Youssouf Sabaly, Victor Ruiz, Luiz Felipe, Alex Moreno, Luiz Henrique (Joaquin, min.63), Sergio Canales (Andres Guardado, min.73), Guido Rodriguez, William Carvalho (Aitor Ruibal, min.85), Rodri (Juan Cruz, min.63) and Borja Iglesias (Willian Jose, min.85)
Almería:Fernando Martinez, Houboulang Mendes (Pozo, min.78), Rodrigo Ely, Srdjan Babic, Sergio Akieme, César De La Hoz, Eguaras, Gonzalo Melero (Lucas Robertone, min.61), El Bilal Toure (Dyego Sousa, min.73), Largie Ramazani (Francisco Portillo, min.73) and Leo Baptistao (Lazaro, min.73)
Stadium:the Estadio Benito Villamarin
Goals:William Carvalho (1-0, min. 23), El Bilal Toure (1-1, min. 52), Borja Iglesias (2-1, min. 66) and William Carvalho (3-1, min. 71)