Rayo 2-1 Valencia: Visitors misfire as Vallecano break their slump

Photo Credit: AP

Rayo Vallecano strolled past Valencia with a 2-1 win on Saturday at Estadio de Vallecas. Rayo arrived at the match looking to pick up more points after losing their last match 2-1 to Osasuna. Valencia were able to continue their winning streak after a 5-1 win against Getafe in their last match. Rayo are now in 14th place, with 4 points from 5 matches, while Valencia sit in 11th, with 6 points from 5.

Rayo found the net first, with an early goal from Isi Palazon in the 5th minute, to take a 1-0 lead into half time.

vallecano started the second half with renewed vigour, with a goal from Nicolas Gonzalez in the 52nd minute. In the end though, The Bats pull-back following a Mouctar Diakhaby goal just before the full time. The match ended with a 2-1 home victory.

Substitutions for Rayo included Pathe Ciss, Falcao, Randy Nteka, Unai Lopez and Jose Pozo for Sergio Camello, Santi Comesana, Isi Palazon, Oscar Trejo and Óscar Valentín, respectively. Valencia brought on Marcos De Sousa, Justin Kluivert, Lato Toni and Andre Almeida, to replace Nicolas Gonzalez, Hugo Duro, Jose Luis Gaya and Hugo Guillamon.

There were bookings for Ivan Balliu, Isi Palazon, Stole Dimitrievski, Santi Comesana and Oscar Trejo from Rayo, and Yunus Musah and Thierry Correia, for Valencia.

Rayo will next play Athletic Bilbao away, with Valencia facing Celta Vigo at home.

Technical card:
Rayo Vallecano:Stole Dimitrievski, Ivan Balliu, Alejandro Catena, Florian Lejeune, Francisco Garcia, Isi Palazon (Randy Nteka, min.76), Santi Comesana (Falcao, min.69), Óscar Valentín (Jose Pozo, min.87), Alvaro Garcia, Oscar Trejo (Unai Lopez, min.76) and Sergio Camello (Pathe Ciss, min.68)
Valencia:Giorgi Mamardashvili, Thierry Correia, Gabriel Paulista, Mouctar Diakhaby, Jose Luis Gaya (Lato Toni, min.64), Yunus Musah, Nicolas Gonzalez (Marcos De Sousa, min.56), Hugo Guillamon (Andre Almeida, min.78), Lino, Samu Castillejo and Hugo Duro (Justin Kluivert, min.64)
Stadium:Estadio de Vallecas
Goals:Isi Palazon (1-0, min. 5), Nicolas Gonzalez (2-0, min. 52) and Mouctar Diakhaby (2-1, min. 90)