Osasuna 0-2 Getafe: Deep Blues leave with a surprise three points

Osasuna vs Getafe
Photo Credit: AP

Getafe defeated Osasuna 2-0 on Sunday at the Estadio El Sadar. Both Osasuna and Getafe arrived in good form, having secured victories in their previous matches. Osasuna were looking to pick up points after winning their previous two games in the league. The most recent was against the Almería away (1-0), the other to Rayo Vallecano at home (2-1). Getafe were able to continue their winning streak after a 2-1 win against Real Sociedad in their last match. Osasuna are now in 5th place on the table and have 12 points while Getafe sit in 14th with 7 points after 6 matches.

Getafe started strongly in the first half, when Juan Iglesias gave them the lead, 30 minutes in, concluding the first half 1-0.

Deep Blues continued to pile on the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, when Gaston Alvarez found the net in the 76th minute, seing the match finish 2-0.

Substitutions for Osasuna included Ruben Pena, Abdessamad Ezzalzouli, Jon Moncayola, Kike Garcia and Manu Sanchez for Nacho Vidal, Ruben Garcia, Darko Brasanac, Ante Budimir and David Garcia, respectively. Getafe brought on Munir El Haddadi, Luis Milla, Jaime Mata, Jaime Seoane and Alex Revuelta, to replace Borja Mayoral, Nemanja Maksimovic, Enes Unal, Carles Alena and Gaston Alvarez.

Osasuna and Getafe played a rough match where the referee sanctioned Osasuna with yellow cards to Ruben Garcia, Nacho Vidal, Ruben Pena, Darko Brasanac, Ante Budimir, Jon Moncayola and David Garcia and with red card to Ezequiel Avila, while from Getafe Domingos Duarte and Luis Milla were booked and red to Luis Milla (2 yellow cards).

Osasuna will next travel to R Madrid, while Getafe will face Real Valladolid at home.

Technical card:
Osasuna:Sergio Herrera, Nacho Vidal (Ruben Pena, min.57), David Garcia (Manu Sanchez, min.77), Unai Garcia, Juan Cruz, Ezequiel Avila, Ruben Garcia (Abdessamad Ezzalzouli, min.57), Darko Brasanac (Jon Moncayola, min.68), Lucas Torro, Moi Gomez and Ante Budimir (Kike Garcia, min.77)
Getafe:David Soria, Damian Suarez, Domingos Duarte, Gaston Alvarez (Alex Revuelta, min.90), Stefan Mitrovic, Juan Iglesias, Carles Alena (Jaime Seoane, min.90), Mauro Arambarri, Nemanja Maksimovic (Luis Milla, min.63), Enes Unal (Jaime Mata, min.82) and Borja Mayoral (Munir El Haddadi, min.63)
Stadium:the Estadio El Sadar
Goals:Juan Iglesias (0-1, min. 30) and Gaston Alvarez (0-2, min. 76)