Mallorca 1-2 Real Betis: Betis make it two wins from two in new La Liga campaign

Photo Credit: AP

Mallorca on home loss to Real Betis at Estadi de Son Moix on Saturday. Mallorca wanted to improve their league standing following a disappointing 0-0 draw with Athletic Bilbao in their previous game. Betis were coming off the back of a 3-0 win against Elche. As the table looks today, Mallorca are in 13th place, with 1 point from 2 matches, while Betis sit in 1st, with 6 points from 2.

The Green-and-Whites scored first, with a goal from Borja Iglesias at the 9 minute mark to take them into the break 1-0 up.

Mallorca took the lead in the second half, with a goal from Vedat Muriqi in the 56th minute. In the end though, Betis, 73 minutes in took the victory thanks to another Borja Iglesias goal. The match ended with a 2-1 victory for the visitors.

Substitutions for Mallorca included Antonio Sanchez, Abdon, Iddrisu Baba and Lago Junior for Clement Grenier, Dani Rodriguez, Rodrigo Battaglia and Copete, repectively. Betis brought on Rober, Paul Akouokou and Loren Moron for Rodri, Borja Iglesias and William Carvalho.

There were bookings for Clement Grenier, Dani Rodriguez, Rodrigo Battaglia, Martin Valjent, Raillo, Pablo Maffeo, Lago Junior and Jaume Costa from Mallorca. For Betis, William Carvalho, Juanmi, Nabil Fekir, German Pezzella, Rober, Guido Rodriguez and Rui Silva saw yellow.

Mallorca will next travel to Rayo Vallecano, while Betis will face Osasuna at home.

Technical card:
Mallorca:Predrag Rajkovic, Pablo Maffeo, Martin Valjent, Raillo, Copete (Lago Junior, min.87), Jaume Costa, Kang In Lee, Clement Grenier (Antonio Sanchez, min.64), Rodrigo Battaglia (Iddrisu Baba, min.79), Dani Rodriguez (Abdon, min.79) and Vedat Muriqi
Real Betis:Rui Silva, Aitor Ruibal, Edgar Gonzalez, German Pezzella, Alex Moreno, Rodri (Rober, min.64), Guido Rodriguez, William Carvalho (Loren Moron, min.88), Borja Iglesias (Paul Akouokou, min.79), Juanmi and Nabil Fekir
Stadium:Estadi de Son Moix
Goals:Borja Iglesias (0-1, min. 9), Vedat Muriqi (1-1, min. 56) and Borja Iglesias (1-2, min. 73)