Girona 2-1 Athletic Bilbao: Girona hold out to upset the odds

Photo Credit: AP

Girona beat Athletic Bilbao with a 2-1 victory on Friday at Estadi Montilivi. Girona arrived with the intention of improving their league position following a disappointing 1-1 draw with R Madrid in their previous game. Athletic Bilbao, meanwhile, were looking to extend their winning run after a 1-0 victory against Villarreal. Girona and Athletic Bilbao currently occupy 12th and 6th spots in the table, with 13 points and 21 points respectively after 13 matches.

After an uneventful first half, Girona applied pressure in the second and were rewarded, when David Lopez gave them the lead on the 67 minute mark. Girona looked to have the match under control when they scored again to grab the advantage, thanks to a goal from Ivan Martin, 75 minutes in to establish a 2-0. In the end though, The Lions pull-back on the 79 minute mark, with a goal from Gorka Guruzeta. When the final whistle blew, the result was 2-1 to Girona.

Substitutions for Girona included Cristhian Stuani, Rodrigo Riquelme, Ivan Martin, Javier Hernandez and Ramon Terrats for Valentin Castellanos, Valery Fernandez, Toni Villa, Miguel Gutierrez and Yangel Herrera, respectively. Athletic Bilbao brought on Mikel Balenziaga, Oscar De Marcos, Unai Vencedor, Gorka Guruzeta and Oier Zarraga, to replace Yuri Berchiche, Inigo Lekue, Mikel Vesga, Raul Garcia and Oihan Sancet.

There were bookings for Oriol Romeu from Girona. For Athletic Bilbao, Yuri Berchiche saw yellow.

Girona will play their next fixture away against Elche, while Athletic Bilbao will face Real Valladolid at home.

Technical card:
Girona:Paulo Gazzaniga, Martinez Arnau, Santiago Bueno, David Lopez, Miguel Gutierrez (Javier Hernandez, min.85), Toni Villa (Ivan Martin, min.66), Oriol Romeu, Yangel Herrera (Ramon Terrats, min.85), Aleix Garcia, Valery Fernandez (Rodrigo Riquelme, min.62) and Valentin Castellanos (Cristhian Stuani, min.62)
Athletic Bilbao:Unai Simon, Inigo Lekue (Oscar De Marcos, min.55), Yeray Alvarez, Inigo Martinez, Yuri Berchiche (Mikel Balenziaga, min.46), Nicholas Williams, Mikel Vesga (Unai Vencedor, min.55), Raul Garcia (Gorka Guruzeta, min.69), Oihan Sancet (Oier Zarraga, min.69), Alex Berenguer and Inaki Williams
Stadium:Estadi Montilivi
Goals:David Lopez (1-0, min. 67), Ivan Martin (2-0, min. 75) and Gorka Guruzeta (2-1, min. 79)