Getafe 2-2 Athletic Bilbao: Deep Blues held to a draw by visiting The Lions

Photo Credit: AP

Getafe were helde ach other to a 2-2 draw by Athletic Bilbao on Tuesday at the Coliseum Alfonso Perez. Getafe were looking for a victory following a disappointing 0-0 draw with Rayo Vallecano in their previous game, while Athletic Bilbao had lost their previous match against Atletico Madrid. Getafe are currently 15th with 9 points from 10 matches, while Athletic Bilbao sit in 6th, with 18 points from 10.

The Lions started strongly in the first half, with an early goal from Inaki Williams in the 2nd minute. However, their lead was short-lived, as Carles Alena equalised for Getafe on the 27 minute mark. The score at break remained 1-1.

Athletic Bilbao fought back the second half, thanks to a goal from Raul Garcia, 62 minutes in. In the end though, their celebrations were kept brief, as Munir El Haddadi equalised for Deep Blues, 76 minutes in, seing the match finish 2-2.

Substitutions for Getafe included Fabrizio Angileri, Munir El Haddadi, Portu, Angel Algobia and Juan Latasa for Juan Iglesias, Nemanja Maksimovic, Borja Mayoral, Carles Alena and Enes Unal, respectively. Athletic Bilbao brought on Yuri Berchiche, Raul Garcia, Alex Berenguer, Oier Zarraga and Dani Garcia, to replace Oscar De Marcos, Oihan Sancet, Iker Muniain, Nicholas Williams and Ander Herrera.

There were bookings for Juan Iglesias, Damian Suarez, Domingos Duarte, Carles Alena, Jaime Mata and Angel Algobia from Getafe, and Oihan Sancet, Ander Herrera, Oier Zarraga and Inigo Martinez, for Athletic Bilbao.

Athletic Bilbao and Getafe will next play away to Barcelona and Celta Vigo respectively.

Technical card:
Getafe:David Soria, Damian Suarez, Stefan Mitrovic, Domingos Duarte, Djene, Juan Iglesias (Fabrizio Angileri, min.72), Nemanja Maksimovic (Munir El Haddadi, min.73), Luis Milla, Carles Alena (Angel Algobia, min.85), Borja Mayoral (Portu, min.85), Enes Unal (Juan Latasa, min.90) and Jaime Mata
Athletic Bilbao:Unai Simon, Oscar De Marcos (Yuri Berchiche, min.55), Dani Vivian, Inigo Martinez, Inigo Lekue, Nicholas Williams (Oier Zarraga, min.74), Oihan Sancet (Raul Garcia, min.56), Ander Herrera (Dani Garcia, min.74), Mikel Vesga, Iker Muniain (Alex Berenguer, min.56) and Inaki Williams
Stadium:the Coliseum Alfonso Perez
Goals:Inaki Williams (0-1, min. 2), Carles Alena (1-1, min. 27), Raul Garcia (1-2, min. 62) and Munir El Haddadi (2-2, min. 76)