Espanyol 0-2 Rayo: Vallecano maintain unbeaten start with away win

Photo Credit: AP

Rayo Vallecano enjoyed a mesmerising away victory against Espanyol at Rcde Stadium on Friday. With both teams drawing in their previous fixtures, they were keen to pick up points. Espanyol were looking for a victory following a disappointing 2-2 draw with Celta Vigo in their previous game. Rayo secured a point against Barcelona in their previous match. As things stand, Espanyol are currently 13th with 1 point from 2 matches, while Rayo sit in 1st, with 4 points from 2.

vallecano started strongly in the first half, with a goal from Isi Palazon just before halftime. The first half ended 1-0.

Rayo continued to pile on the pressure in the second and were rewarded, when Pathe Ciss found the net, at 59 minutes. They managed to see the match out with a clean sheet and a final score of 2-0.

Substitutions for Espanyol included Fernando Calero, Javi Puado, Luca Koleosho and Keidi Bare for Nicolas Melamed Ribaudo, Ruben Sanchez, Brian Olivan and Edu Exposito, repectively. Rayo brought on Salvi Sanchez, Óscar Valentín, Falcao, Randy Nteka and Mario Suarez, to replace Isi Palazon, Oscar Trejo, Sergio Camello, Alvaro Garcia and Unai Lopez.

Espanyol and Rayo played a rough match where the referee sanctioned Espanyol with yellow cards to Oscar Regano and Brian Olivan and with red card to Sergi Gomez, while from Rayo Florian Lejeune, Stole Dimitrievski, Oscar Trejo and Óscar Valentín were booked and red to Florian Lejeune (2 yellow cards).

Rayo and Espanyol will next play at home to Mallorca and R Madrid respectively.

Technical card:
Espanyol:Benjamin Lecomte, Oscar Regano, Leandro Cabrera, Sergi Gomez, Brian Olivan (Luca Koleosho, min.77), Vinicius Souza, Edu Exposito (Keidi Bare, min.77), Sergi Darder, Nicolas Melamed Ribaudo (Fernando Calero, min.35), Joselu and Ruben Sanchez (Javi Puado, min.64)
Rayo Vallecano:Stole Dimitrievski, Ivan Balliu, Florian Lejeune, Alejandro Catena, Francisco Garcia, Isi Palazon (Salvi Sanchez, min.57), Oscar Trejo (Óscar Valentín, min.57), Pathe Ciss, Unai Lopez (Mario Suarez, min.85), Alvaro Garcia (Randy Nteka, min.85) and Sergio Camello (Falcao, min.74)
Stadium:Rcde Stadium
Goals:Isi Palazon (0-1, min. 40) and Pathe Ciss (0-2, min. 59)