Celta 1-2 Real Sociedad: The White and Blues continue hot winning streak

Photo Credit: AP

Real Sociedad strolled past Celta Vigo with a 2-1 win on Sunday at the Estadio Municipal de Balaidos. Celta were looking to get back to winning ways after losing their last match 1-0 to Barcelona whilst Real were hoping to continue their winning streak after back-to-back victories against Villarreal and Girona. Celta are now in 11th place, with 10 points from 9 matches, while Real sit in 6th, with 16 points from 9.

Real started strongly in the first half, when Illarramendi gave them the lead, 30 minutes in. However, their lead was short-lived, as Iago Aspas equalised for The Sky Blues on the 39 minute mark to see out the first half 1-1.

The White and Blues fought back, thanks to a goal from Igor Zubeldia in the 54th minute. The match ended with a 2-1 victory for the visitors.

Substitutions for Celta included Óscar Mingueza, Carles Perez and Goncalo Paciencia for Hugo Mallo, Gabriel Veiga and Franco Cervi, respectively. Real brought on Diego Rico Salguero, Mikel Merino, Aritz Elustondo, Robert Navarro and Ander Barrenetxea, to replace Aihen Munoz, Illarramendi, Andoni Gorosabel, David Silva and Take.

There were bookings for Jorgen Strand Larsen, Hugo Mallo, Carles Perez, Óscar Mingueza and Agustin Marchesin from Celta. For Real, Illarramendi, Robin Le Normand, Martin Zubimendi, David Silva, Igor Zubeldia, Ander Barrenetxea and Robert Navarro saw yellow.

Celta will next travel to Real Valladolid, while Real will face Mallorca at home.

Technical card:
Celta Vigo:Agustin Marchesin, Hugo Mallo (Óscar Mingueza, min.65), Unai Nunez, Joseph Aidoo, Javi Galan, Oscar, Gabriel Veiga (Carles Perez, min.65), Fran Beltran, Franco Cervi (Goncalo Paciencia, min.80), Jorgen Strand Larsen and Iago Aspas
Real Sociedad:Alex Remiro, Andoni Gorosabel (Aritz Elustondo, min.68), Igor Zubeldia, Robin Le Normand, Aihen Munoz (Diego Rico Salguero, min.28), Brais Mendez, Illarramendi (Mikel Merino, min.46), Martin Zubimendi, David Silva (Robert Navarro, min.75), Take (Ander Barrenetxea, min.75) and Alexander Sorloth
Stadium:the Estadio Municipal de Balaidos
Goals:Illarramendi (0-1, min. 30), Iago Aspas (1-1, min. 39) and Igor Zubeldia (1-2, min. 54)