Cádiz 0-4 Athletic Bilbao: The Lions hand Gaditano a heavy home loss

Photo Credit: AP

Cádiz on home loss to Athletic Bilbao at Estadio Ramon de Carranza on Monday. Cádiz were looking to get back their winning ways, following a previous defeat to Osasuna. Athletic Bilbao, on the other hand, were coming from a 1-0 win against Valencia. As the table looks today, Cádiz are in 20th place in the table and have 0 points while Athletic Bilbao sit in 4th with 7 points after 3 matches.

Athletic Bilbao found the net first, when Inaki Williams opened the rout, 24 minutes in, to take a 1-0 lead into half time.

The Lions continued to apply pressure in the second and were rewarded, with a goal from Gorka Guruzeta, 56 minutes in. Athletic Bilbao looked to have the match under control when they scored again and increased their lead, thanks to a goal from Alex Berenguer at the 78 minute mark to establish a 3-0. However they weren’t finished yet and Gorka Guruzeta made it 4-0 just before the final whistle with a final score of 4-0.

Substitutions for Cádiz included Víctor Chust, Fede San Emeterio, Awer Mabil, Alex and Lucas Perez for Fali, Jose Mari, Alfonso Espino, Antonio Blanco and Anthony Lozano, repectively. Athletic Bilbao brought on Gorka Guruzeta, Raul Garcia, Dani Garcia, Jon Morcillo and Aitor Paredes, to replace Inaki Williams, Nicholas Williams, Oihan Sancet, Alex Berenguer and Inigo Lekue.

There were bookings for Alfonso Espino and Ivan Alejo from Cádiz, and Inigo Lekue, for Athletic Bilbao.

Cádiz will next travel to Celta Vigo, while Athletic Bilbao will face Espanyol at home.

Technical card:
Cádiz:Jeremías Ledesma, Joseba Zaldua, Fali (Víctor Chust, min.46), Luis Hernandez, Alfonso Espino (Awer Mabil, min.61), Ivan Alejo, Antonio Blanco (Alex, min.61), Jose Mari (Fede San Emeterio, min.46), Santiago Arzamendia, Anthony Lozano (Lucas Perez, min.67) and Alvaro Negredo
Athletic Bilbao:Unai Simon, Oscar De Marcos, Dani Vivian, Yeray Alvarez, Inigo Lekue (Aitor Paredes, min.88), Nicholas Williams (Raul Garcia, min.82), Oihan Sancet (Dani Garcia, min.88), Mikel Vesga, Iker Muniain, Alex Berenguer (Jon Morcillo, min.88) and Inaki Williams (Gorka Guruzeta, min.54)
Stadium:Estadio Ramon de Carranza
Goals:Inaki Williams (0-1, min. 24), Gorka Guruzeta (0-2, min. 56), Alex Berenguer (0-3, min. 78) and Gorka Guruzeta (0-4, min. 90)