Atletico Madrid 4-1 Celta Vigo: The Sky Blues blown away by impressive Atleti

Atletico Madrid vs Celta Vigo
Photo Credit: AP

Atletico Madrid eased past Celta Vigo in a 4-1 victory on Saturday at Civitas Metropolitano. Atleti arrived with the intention of improving their league position after a 1-1 draw against Real Sociedad. Celta were coming from consecutive wins against Cádiz and Girona. Atleti and Celta sit 4th, (10 points) and 11th, (7 points), spots respectively, after 5 matches.

Atleti dominated the first half, when Angel Correa opened the rout in the 9th minute, and they saw out the first half 1-0.

Los Colchoneros started the second half with an intensified spirit, with an early goal from Rodrigo De Paul in the 50th minute. The momentum was again with Atleti, who then scored again courtesy of a goal from Yannick Carrasco, 66 minutes in to establish a 3-0 result. However, Celta refused to lie down and managed to pull back a goal from Gabriel Veiga on the 71 minute mark. In the end though, Atleti then grabbed a goal from Unai Nunez, 82 minutes in. The match ended with a 4-1 home victory.

Substitutions for Atleti included Koke, Joao Felix, Antoine Griezmann, Matheus Cunha and Saul Niguez for Thomas Lemar, Angel Correa, Alvaro Morata, Rodrigo De Paul and Yannick Carrasco, respectively. Celta brought on Gabriel Veiga and Augusto Solari, to replace Carles Perez and Renato Tapia.

There were bookings for Mario Hermoso and Koke from Atleti. For Celta, Unai Nunez saw yellow.

Atleti will next play R Madrid at home, with Celta facing Valencia away.

Technical card:
Atletico Madrid:Ivo Grbic, Nahuel Molina, Reinildo Mandava, Axel Witsel, Mario Hermoso, Yannick Carrasco (Saul Niguez, min.85), Geoffrey Kondogbia, Rodrigo De Paul (Matheus Cunha, min.75), Thomas Lemar (Koke, min.46), Angel Correa (Joao Felix, min.63) and Alvaro Morata (Antoine Griezmann, min.63)
Celta Vigo:Agustin Marchesin, Hugo Mallo, Joseph Aidoo, Unai Nunez, Javi Galan, Carles Perez (Gabriel Veiga, min.53), Renato Tapia (Augusto Solari, min.64), Fran Beltran, Franco Cervi, Jorgen Strand Larsen and Iago Aspas
Stadium:Civitas Metropolitano
Goals:Angel Correa (1-0, min. 9), Rodrigo De Paul (2-0, min. 50), Yannick Carrasco (3-0, min. 66), Gabriel Veiga (3-1, min. 71) and Unai Nunez (4-1, min. 82)