Athletic Bilbao 1-0 Villarreal: The Lions sink the The Yellow Submarine

Photo Credit: AP

Villarreal fell to an away defeat at the hands of Athletic Bilbao at San Mames Stadium on Sunday. Athletic Bilbao arrived at the match looking to pick up more points after losing their last match 4-0 to Barcelona. Villarreal were able to continue their winning streak after a 2-1 win against Almería in their last match. Athletic Bilbao and Villarreal sit 5th, (21 points) and 8th, (18 points), in the table respectively, after 12 matches.

After a goalless first half, Athletic Bilbao applied pressure in the second and were rewarded, when Inaki Williams gave them the lead on the 59 minute mark, leaving the final score at 1-0.

Substitutions for Athletic Bilbao included Inigo Lekue, Unai Vencedor, Gorka Guruzeta and Jon Morcillo for Oscar De Marcos, Raul Garcia, Inaki Williams and Alex Berenguer, respectively. Villarreal brought on Manu Trigueros, Nicolas Jackson, Yeremi Pino, Jorge Cuenca and Alberto del Moral, to replace Giovani Lo Celso, Jose Luis Morales, Samuel Chukwueze, Dani Parejo and Kiko Femenia.

There were bookings for Raul Garcia and Mikel Vesga from Athletic Bilbao, and Alberto Moreno, for Villarreal.

Athletic Bilbao will next play Girona away, with Villarreal facing Mallorca at home.

Technical card:
Athletic Bilbao:Unai Simon, Oscar De Marcos (Inigo Lekue, min.29), Inigo Martinez, Yeray Alvarez, Yuri Berchiche, Nicholas Williams, Oihan Sancet, Mikel Vesga, Raul Garcia (Unai Vencedor, min.69), Alex Berenguer (Jon Morcillo, min.82) and Inaki Williams (Gorka Guruzeta, min.82)
Villarreal:Geronimo Rulli, Kiko Femenia (Alberto del Moral, min.86), Aissa Mandi, Pau Torres, Alberto Moreno, Francis Coquelin, Samuel Chukwueze (Yeremi Pino, min.64), Dani Parejo (Jorge Cuenca, min.86), Giovani Lo Celso (Manu Trigueros, min.25), Jose Luis Morales (Nicolas Jackson, min.64) and Arnaut Danjuma
Stadium:San Mames Stadium
Goals:Inaki Williams (1-0, min. 59)