Athletic Bilbao 3-0 Valladolid: The Lions blaze past Pucelle at San Mames Stadium

Photo Credit: AP

Athletic Bilbao ease to victory over Real Valladolid 3-0 on Tuesday at San Mames Stadium. Athletic Bilbao were looking forward to playing again after losing 2-1 to Girona in their previous fixture. Valladolid were able to continue their winning streak after a 2-1 win against Elche in their last match. Athletic Bilbao are now in 3rd place, with 24 points from 14 matches, while Valladolid sit in 10th, with 17 points from 14.

The Lions didn’t take long to get on the score-sheet, when Gorka Guruzeta opened the rout, 19 minutes in, finishing the first half 1-0.

Athletic Bilbao fought back, when Gorka Guruzeta found the net once more, 51 minutes in. However they weren’t finished yet and Dani Vivian made it 3-0 on the 78 minute mark to make it 3-0.

Substitutions for Athletic Bilbao included Unai Vencedor, Iker Muniain, Asier Villalibre, Raul Garcia and Jon Morcillo for Ander Herrera, Gorka Guruzeta, Inaki Williams, Oihan Sancet and Nicholas Williams, respectively. Valladolid replaced Alvaro Aguado, Oscar Plano, Ivan Sanchez, Sergio Leon and Lucas Rosa with Shon Weissman, Juan Jose Narvaez, Monchu, Sergi Guardiola and Gonzalo Plata.

There were bookings for Gorka Guruzeta, Ander Herrera and Unai Vencedor from Athletic Bilbao, and Monchu, for Valladolid.

Athletic Bilbao will next travel to Real Betis, while Valladolid will face R Madrid at home.

Technical card:
Athletic Bilbao:Unai Simon, Oscar De Marcos, Yeray Alvarez, Dani Vivian, Inigo Lekue, Inaki Williams (Asier Villalibre, min.78), Ander Herrera (Unai Vencedor, min.67), Mikel Vesga, Oihan Sancet (Raul Garcia, min.78), Nicholas Williams (Jon Morcillo, min.83) and Gorka Guruzeta (Iker Muniain, min.67)
Real Valladolid:Jordi Masip, Ivan Fresneda, Zouhair Feddal, Jawad El Yamiq, Lucas Olaza, Gonzalo Plata (Lucas Rosa, min.83), Monchu (Ivan Sanchez, min.62), Kike Perez, Juan Jose Narvaez (Oscar Plano, min.62), Sergi Guardiola (Sergio Leon, min.67) and Shon Weissman (Alvaro Aguado, min.46)
Stadium:San Mames Stadium
Goals:Gorka Guruzeta (1-0, min. 19), Gorka Guruzeta (2-0, min. 51) and Dani Vivian (3-0, min. 78)