Athletic Bilbao 3-2 Rayo: The Lions celebrate win as Rayo held off

Photo Credit: AP

Athletic Bilbao banked all three points against the Rayo Vallecano in a 3-2 victory on Saturday, at San Mames Stadium. Both Athletic Bilbao and Rayo arrived at the challenge after previous wins. Athletic Bilbao were looking to continue their good run, following a 4-1 victory against Elche. Rayo were looking to extend their winning run after a 2-1 victory against Valencia. Athletic Bilbao are now in 3rd place on the table and have 13 points while Rayo sit in 11th with 7 points after 6 matches.

Rayo started the match strongly, with an early goal from Oscar Trejo in the 5th minute. However, the good fortune didn’t last for long. An equalizer from Inaki Williams in the 14th minute brought Athletic Bilbao level. The Lions looked to have the match under control when they scored again to grab the advantage, thanks to a goal from Oihan Sancet, 28 minutes in to establish a 2-1. Athletic Bilbao then scored once more and increased their advantage thanks to a goal from Nicholas Williams on the 33 minute mark and saw the first half out 3-1.

vallecano took the lead in the second half, thanks to a goal from Falcao, at 80 minutes, leaving the final score at 3-2.

Substitutions for Athletic Bilbao included Ander Herrera, Jon Morcillo, Oier Zarraga, Aitor Paredes and Raul Garcia for Oihan Sancet, Iker Muniain, Nicholas Williams, Alex Berenguer and Inaki Williams, respectively. Rayo replaced Óscar Valentín, Santi Comesana, Sergio Camello, Florian Lejeune and Oscar Trejo for Pathe Ciss, Unai Lopez, Falcao, Abdul Mumin and Bebe.

There were bookings for Dani Garcia from Athletic Bilbao. For Rayo, Óscar Valentín and Pathe Ciss saw yellow.

Rayo and Athletic Bilbao will next play at home to Elche and Almería respectively.

Technical card:
Athletic Bilbao:Unai Simon, Oscar De Marcos, Inigo Martinez, Yeray Alvarez, Inigo Lekue, Nicholas Williams (Oier Zarraga, min.80), Oihan Sancet (Ander Herrera, min.66), Iker Muniain (Jon Morcillo, min.80), Dani Garcia, Alex Berenguer (Aitor Paredes, min.90) and Inaki Williams (Raul Garcia, min.90)
Rayo Vallecano:Stole Dimitrievski, Ivan Balliu, Alejandro Catena, Florian Lejeune (Abdul Mumin, min.79), Francisco Garcia, Isi Palazon, Óscar Valentín (Pathe Ciss, min.46), Santi Comesana (Unai Lopez, min.69), Alvaro Garcia, Sergio Camello (Falcao, min.79) and Oscar Trejo (Bebe, min.90)
Stadium:San Mames Stadium
Goals:Oscar Trejo (0-1, min. 5), Inaki Williams (1-1, min. 14), Oihan Sancet (2-1, min. 28), Nicholas Williams (3-1, min. 33) and Falcao (3-2, min. 80)