Athletic Bilbao 0-1 Espanyol: Braithwaite strikes gives Budgerigars narrow away win

Bilbao vs Espanyol
Photo Credit: AP

Espanyol banked all three points against the Athletic Bilbao in a 1-0 victory on Sunday, at San Mames Stadium. Athletic Bilbao had been hopeful of continuing their good run after winning their previous two matches in the competition. The most recent was against the Cádiz away (4-0), the other to Valencia at home (1-0) while Espanyol had lost their previous match against R Madrid. Athletic Bilbao are now in 6th place on the table and have 7 points while Espanyol sit in 15th with 1 point after 4 matches.

After an uneventful first half, Budgerigars continued to pile on the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, when Martin Braithwaite found the net, 83 minutes in, sealing a 1-0 victory for the away side.

Substitutions for Athletic Bilbao included Gorka Guruzeta, Raul Garcia, Unai Vencedor and Jon Morcillo for Nicholas Williams, Inaki Williams, Oihan Sancet and Inigo Lekue, respectively. Espanyol brought on Keidi Bare, Wassim Keddari Boulif, Omar El Hilali, Jose Carlos Lazo and Dani Gomez, to replace Edu Exposito, Keidi Bare, Fernando Calero, Javi Puado and Martin Braithwaite.

There were bookings for Oihan Sancet, Oscar De Marcos and Unai Vencedor from Athletic Bilbao. For Espanyol, Leandro Cabrera and Dani Gomez saw yellow.

Athletic Bilbao will next travel to Elche, while Espanyol will face Seville at home.

Technical card:
Athletic Bilbao:Unai Simon, Oscar De Marcos, Yeray Alvarez, Dani Vivian, Inigo Lekue (Jon Morcillo, min.85), Nicholas Williams (Gorka Guruzeta, min.56), Oihan Sancet (Unai Vencedor, min.71), Mikel Vesga, Iker Muniain, Alex Berenguer and Inaki Williams (Raul Garcia, min.71)
Espanyol:Alvaro Fernandez, Oscar Regano, Fernando Calero (Omar El Hilali, min.71), Leandro Cabrera, Brian Olivan, Edu Exposito (Keidi Bare, min.46), Sergi Darder, Vinicius Souza, Javi Puado (Jose Carlos Lazo, min.71), Joselu and Martin Braithwaite (Dani Gomez, min.86)
Stadium:San Mames Stadium
Goals:Martin Braithwaite (0-1, min. 83)