Athletic Bilbao 4-0 Almería: The Lions ship four in heavy home defeat

Photo Credit: AP

On Friday, Almería suffered an away defeat to Athletic Bilbao at San Mames Stadium. Athletic Bilbao were looking to pick up points after winning their previous two games against Rayo Vallecano at home and Elche away, by 3-2 and 4-1 respectively while Almería were beaten 1-0 in their previous match against Mallorca. Athletic Bilbao are now in 3rd place on the table and have 16 points while Almería sit in 17th with 4 points after 7 matches.

Athletic Bilbao didn’t take long to get on the score-sheet, when Inaki Williams opened the rout in the 10th minute. Athletic Bilbao then scored once more and increased their lead thanks to a goal from Oihan Sancet on the 17 minute mark, finishing the first half 2-0.

The Lions continued to pile on the pressure in the second period and were rewarded, with a goal from Nicholas Williams, at 62 minutes. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a goal from Mikel Vesga, 84 minutes in to give a final score of 4-0.

Substitutions for Athletic Bilbao included Aitor Paredes, Ander Herrera, Mikel Vesga, Asier Villalibre and Oier Zarraga for Yeray Alvarez, Oihan Sancet, Alex Berenguer, Iker Muniain and Dani Garcia, respectively. Almería brought on Dyego Sousa, Adri Embarba, Leo Baptistao, Arnau Puigmal and Eguaras, to replace Largie Ramazani, Lazaro, Francisco Portillo, Lucas Robertone and Samu.

There were bookings for Yeray Alvarez from Athletic Bilbao, and Lucas Robertone, Kaiky Melo and Arnau Puigmal, for Almería.

Athletic Bilbao will next play Seville away, with Almería facing Rayo Vallecano at home.

Technical card:
Athletic Bilbao:Unai Simon, Oscar De Marcos, Inigo Martinez, Yeray Alvarez (Aitor Paredes, min.71), Inigo Lekue, Nicholas Williams, Dani Garcia (Oier Zarraga, min.85), Iker Muniain (Asier Villalibre, min.79), Oihan Sancet (Ander Herrera, min.71), Alex Berenguer (Mikel Vesga, min.79) and Inaki Williams
Almería:Fernando Martinez, Houboulang Mendes, Kaiky Melo, Rodrigo Ely, Srdjan Babic, Sergio Akieme, Francisco Portillo (Leo Baptistao, min.59), Lucas Robertone (Arnau Puigmal, min.66), Samu (Eguaras, min.79), Lazaro (Adri Embarba, min.58) and Largie Ramazani (Dyego Sousa, min.46)
Stadium:San Mames Stadium
Goals:Inaki Williams (1-0, min. 10), Oihan Sancet (2-0, min. 17), Nicholas Williams (3-0, min. 62) and Mikel Vesga (4-0, min. 84)