Almería 3-1 Celta Vigo: The Sky Blues sunk after a bright start

Photo Credit: AP

Almería defeated Celta Vigo 3-1 on Saturday at Estadio Del Mediterráneo. Almería arrived at the match looking to pick up more points, following defeat to Villarreal. Celta, meanwhile, were struggling for form following a draw in their last match. Almería and Celta currently occupy 15th and 14th spots in the table, with 10 points and 11 points respectively after 12 matches.

Celta started strongly in the first half, when Gabriel Veiga gave them the lead in the 25th minute, to take a 1-0 lead into half time.

Almería started the second half with renewed vigour, thanks to a goal from Lazaro in the 52nd minute. Almería looked to have the match under control when they scored again and increased their lead, thanks to a goal from César De La Hoz, 60 minutes in to establish a 2-1. However they weren’t finished yet and Eguaras made it 3-1 just before the full time to give a final score of 3-1.

Substitutions for Almería included Lazaro, Pozo, Largie Ramazani, Dyego Sousa and Eguaras for Adri Embarba, Houboulang Mendes, Leo Baptistao, El Bilal Toure and Gonzalo Melero, respectively. Celta replaced Carles Perez, Jorgen Strand Larsen, Javi Galan and Fran Beltran for Franco Cervi, Renato Tapia, Pablo Duran and Goncalo Paciencia.

The referee booked Adri Embarba, César De La Hoz, Gonzalo Melero and Rodrigo Ely for Almería and Gabriel Veiga saw the red card, for Celta.

Almería will next play Barcelona away, with Celta facing Osasuna at home.

Technical card:
Almería:Fernando Martinez, Houboulang Mendes (Pozo, min.46), Rodrigo Ely, Srdjan Babic, Sergio Akieme, Leo Baptistao (Largie Ramazani, min.61), Lucas Robertone, Gonzalo Melero (Eguaras, min.86), César De La Hoz, Adri Embarba (Lazaro, min.46) and El Bilal Toure (Dyego Sousa, min.67)
Celta Vigo:Agustin Marchesin, Óscar Mingueza, Joseph Aidoo, Unai Nunez, Javi Galan (Pablo Duran, min.86), Oscar, Gabriel Veiga, Fran Beltran (Goncalo Paciencia, min.89), Carles Perez (Franco Cervi, min.46), Iago Aspas and Jorgen Strand Larsen (Renato Tapia, min.46)
Stadium:Estadio Del Mediterráneo
Goals:Gabriel Veiga (0-1, min. 25), Lazaro (1-1, min. 52), César De La Hoz (2-1, min. 60) and Eguaras (3-1, min. 90)