Shakhtar 0 – Leipzig 4: The Red Bulls take 4 at Municipal Stadium of Marshal Jozef Pilsudski without reply

Photo Credit: AP

Shakhtar Donetsk suffered a home defeat to RB Leipzig at Municipal Stadium of Marshal Jozef Pilsudski on Wednesday. Shakhtar were looking for a victory after a 1-1 draw against Celtic. Leipzig were coming from consecutive wins against R Madrid and Celtic. Following this match, Shakhtar are now in 3rd place on the table and have 6 points while Leipzig sit in 2nd with 12 points after 6 matches.

The Red Bulls didn’t take long to get on the score-sheet, when Christopher Nkunku opened the rout after 10 minutes, ending the first half 1-0.

Leipzig fought back, with an early goal from Andre Silva in the 50th minute. Leipzig looked to have the match under control when they scored again to grab the advantage, thanks to a goal from Dominik Szoboszlai, at 62 minutes to establish a 3-0. However they weren’t finished yet and Valerii Bondar made it 4-0 in the 68th minute to give a final score of 4-0.

Substitutions for Shakhtar included Neven Djurasek, Lucas Taylor, Danylo Sikan, Andriy Totovytsky and Dmytro Kryskiv for Georgiy Sudakov, Yukhym Konoplia, Lassina Franck Traore, Mykhailo Mudryk and Artem Bondarenko, respectively. Leipzig replaced Emil Forsberg, Benjamin Henrichs, Marcel Halstenberg, Dani Olmo and Abdou Diallo with Timo Werner, Mohamed Simakan, David Raum, Dominik Szoboszlai and Xaver Schlager.

The referee booked Bogdan Mykhaylichenko, Lucas Taylor and Danylo Sikan for Shakhtar.

Technical card:
Shakhtar Donetsk:Anatolii Trubin, Yukhym Konoplia (Lucas Taylor, min.59), Mykola Matvienko, Valerii Bondar, Bogdan Mykhaylichenko, Ivan Petryak, Artem Bondarenko (Dmytro Kryskiv, min.81), Georgiy Sudakov (Neven Djurasek, min.59), Taras Stepanenko, Mykhailo Mudryk (Andriy Totovytsky, min.74) and Lassina Franck Traore (Danylo Sikan, min.59)
RB Leipzig:Janis Blaswich, Mohamed Simakan (Benjamin Henrichs, min.67), Willi Orban, Josko Gvardiol, David Raum (Marcel Halstenberg, min.67), Dominik Szoboszlai (Dani Olmo, min.68), Xaver Schlager (Abdou Diallo, min.75), Kevin Kampl, Timo Werner (Emil Forsberg, min.19), Christopher Nkunku and Andre Silva
Stadium:Municipal Stadium of Marshal Jozef Pilsudski
Goals:Christopher Nkunku (0-1, min. 10), Andre Silva (0-2, min. 50), Dominik Szoboszlai (0-3, min. 62) and Valerii Bondar (0-4, min. 68)