Home side humiliated by travelling Sammy Ofer Stadium

Photo Credit: AP

Benfica earned hard-fought win over Maccabi Haifa FC 6-1 on Wednesday at Sammy Ofer Stadium.. Benfica were looking to extend their winning run after a 4-3 victory against Juventus.

Benfica started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, when Goncalo Ramos opened the rout in the 20th minute. However, then grabbed a goal from Tjaronn Chery, 26 minutes in, ending the first half 1-1.

Benfica continued to apply pressure in the second period and were rewarded, thanks to a goal from Petar Musa, at 59 minutes. The momentum was again with Benfica, who then scored again courtesy of a goal from Alex Grimaldo on the 69 minute mark to establish a 3-1 result. Benfica looked to have the match under control when they scored again to grab the advantage, thanks to a goal from Rafa Silva after 73 minutes to establish a 4-1. Benfica looked to have the match under control when they scored again and increased their lead, thanks to a goal from Henrique Araujo, at 88 minutes to establish a 5-1. However they weren’t finished yet and Joao Mario made it 6-1 just before the final whistle to give a final score of 6-1.

Benfica brought on Petar Musa, Chiquinho, Henrique Araujo, Diogo Goncalves and Lucas Verissimo, to replace Goncalo Ramos, Fredrik Aursnes, Rafa Silva, David Neres and Antonio Silva.

Technical card:
Maccabi Haifa FC:Joshua Cohen, Raz Meir (Omer Atzili, min.63), Abdoulaye Seck, Sean Goldberg, Pierre Cornud (Sun Menachem, min.85), Ali Mohamed (Ofri Arad, min.77), Neta Lavi, Mohammad Abu Fani, Dean David (Mavis Tchibota, min.63), Tjaronn Chery and Frantzdy Pierrot (Nikita Rukavytsya, min.77)
Benfica:Odysseas Vlachodimos, Alexander Bah, Antonio Silva (Lucas Verissimo, min.89), Nicolas Otamendi, Alex Grimaldo, David Neres (Diogo Goncalves, min.82), Fredrik Aursnes (Chiquinho, min.32), Rafa Silva (Henrique Araujo, min.82), Florentino Luis, Joao Mario and Goncalo Ramos (Petar Musa, min.32)
Stadium:Sammy Ofer Stadium
Goals:Goncalo Ramos (0-1, min. 20), Tjaronn Chery (1-1, min. 26), Petar Musa (1-2, min. 59), Alex Grimaldo (1-3, min. 69), Rafa Silva (1-4, min. 73), Henrique Araujo (1-5, min. 88) and Joao Mario (1-6, min. 90)