Seville 1-4 Dortmund: Los Nervionenses left reeling as Die Borussen take points

Photo Credit: AP

Seville fell to a home defeat at the hands of Borussia Dortmund at the Estadio Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan on Wednesday. Seville were looking for a victory following a disappointing 0-0 draw with Copenhague in their previous game, while Dortmund had lost their previous match against Manchester City. Seville are now in 3rd place on the table and have 1 point while Dortmund sit in 2nd with 6 points after 3 matches.

Dortmund didn’t take long to get on the score-sheet, when Raphael Guerreiro opened the rout early in the first half. Die Borussen looked to have the match under control when they scored again and increased their lead, thanks to a goal from Jude Bellingham in the 41st minute to establish a 2-0. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a goal from Karim Adeyemi just before half-time and saw the first half out 3-0.

Los Nervionenses started the second half with renewed vigour, when Youssef En-Nesyri found the net, at 51 minutes. In the end though, Dortmund then grabbed a goal from Julian Brandt on the 75 minute mark. The final result, Seville 1, Dortmund 4.

Substitutions for Seville included Gonzalo Montiel, Erik Lamela, Papu Gomez, Thomas Delaney and Kasper Dolberg for Jesus Navas, Suso, Isco, Ivan Rakitic and Joan Jordan, respectively. Dortmund brought on Donyell Malen, Tom Rothe, Anthony Modeste, Thorgan Hazard and Antonios Papadopoulos for Karim Adeyemi, Raphael Guerreiro, Youssoufa Moukoko, Julian Brandt and Salih Ozcan.

There were bookings for Nemanja Gudelj, Erik Lamela and Kike Salas from Seville. For Dortmund, Salih Ozcan saw yellow.

Seville will play their next fixture away against Borussia Dortmund, while Dortmund will face Seville at home.

Technical card:
Seville:Bono, Jesus Navas (Gonzalo Montiel, min.46), Kike Salas, Jose Carmona, Alex Telles, Nemanja Gudelj, Ivan Rakitic (Thomas Delaney, min.62), Joan Jordan (Kasper Dolberg, min.77), Youssef En-Nesyri, Isco (Papu Gomez, min.62) and Suso (Erik Lamela, min.46)
Borussia Dortmund:Alexander Meyer, Thomas Meunier, Niklas Sule, Nico Schlotterbeck, Raphael Guerreiro (Tom Rothe, min.80), Karim Adeyemi (Donyell Malen, min.64), Julian Brandt (Thorgan Hazard, min.85), Salih Ozcan (Antonios Papadopoulos, min.86), Emre Can, Jude Bellingham and Youssoufa Moukoko (Anthony Modeste, min.80)
Stadium:the Estadio Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan
Goals:Raphael Guerreiro (0-1, min. 6), Jude Bellingham (0-2, min. 41), Karim Adeyemi (0-3, min. 43), Youssef En-Nesyri (1-3, min. 51) and Julian Brandt (1-4, min. 75)