Leipzig 3-1 Celtic: Bhoys wasteful in front of goal in Germany

Leipzig vs Celtic
Photo Credit: AP

RB Leipzig beat Celtic with a 3-1 victory on Wednesday at Red Bull Arena. Leipzig arrived at the match looking to pick up more points, following defeat to R Madrid. Celtic, meanwhile, had secured a point against Shakhtar Donetsk in their previous match. Leipzig and Celtic currently occupy 3rd and 4th spots in the table, with 3 points and 1 point respectively after 3 matches.

Leipzig started strongly in the first half, when Christopher Nkunku found the net, at 27 minutes. However, their lead was short-lived, as Jota equalised for Celtic just before half-time, to take a 1-1 lead into half time.

The Red Bulls rallied after this and were rewarded, when Andre Silva found the net on the 64 minute mark. However they weren’t finished yet and Andre Silva made it 3-1 in the 77th minute to make it 3-1.

Substitutions for Leipzig included Janis Blaswich, Emil Forsberg, Amadou Haidara, Marcel Halstenberg and Yussuf Poulsen for Peter Gulacsi, Timo Werner, Kevin Kampl, David Raum and Dominik Szoboszlai, respectively. Celtic replaced Callum Mcgregor, Daizen Maeda, Matt O’Riley, Kyogo Furuhashi and Reo Hatate for Oliver Abildgaard, James Forrest, Sead Haksabanovic, Giorgos Giakoumakis and James McCarthy.

There were bookings for Kevin Kampl from Leipzig. For Celtic, Matt O’Riley saw yellow.

Leipzig will next play Celtic away, with Celtic facing RB Leipzig at home.

Technical card:
RB Leipzig:Peter Gulacsi (Janis Blaswich, min.13), Mohamed Simakan, Josko Gvardiol, Willi Orban, David Raum (Marcel Halstenberg, min.81), Dominik Szoboszlai (Yussuf Poulsen, min.81), Xaver Schlager, Christopher Nkunku, Kevin Kampl (Amadou Haidara, min.71), Timo Werner (Emil Forsberg, min.71) and Andre Silva
Celtic:Joe Hart, Josip Juranovic, Moritz Jenz, Stephen Welsh, Greg Taylor, Reo Hatate (James McCarthy, min.82), Callum Mcgregor (Oliver Abildgaard, min.37), Matt O’Riley (Sead Haksabanovic, min.75), Daizen Maeda (James Forrest, min.75), Kyogo Furuhashi (Giorgos Giakoumakis, min.82) and Jota
Stadium:Red Bull Arena
Goals:Christopher Nkunku (1-0, min. 27), Jota (1-1, min. 47), Andre Silva (2-1, min. 64) and Andre Silva (3-1, min. 77)