Rangers 0-3 Napoli: The Gers collapse as Gli Azzurri get late goals

Rangers vs Napoli
Photo Credit: AP

Napoli cruises against Rangers on an away win at Ibrox on Wednesday. Rangers arrived at the match looking to pick up more points after losing their last match 4-0 to Ajax. Napoli, meanwhile, were coming off the back of a 4-1 win against Liverpool. Rangers and Napoli currently occupy 4th and 1st spots in the table, with 0 points and 6 points respectively after 2 matches.

After an uneventful first half, Gli Azzurri continued to apply pressure in the second period and were rewarded, when Matteo Politano found the net on the 68 minute mark. Napoli looked to have the match under control when they scored again and increased their lead, thanks to a goal from Giacomo Raspadori, 85 minutes in to establish a 2-0. However they weren’t finished yet and Tanguy Ndombele made it 3-0 just before the final whistle to make it 3-0.

Substitutions for Rangers included Leon Thomas King, Antonio Colak, Rabbi Matondo, Glen Kamara and Malik Tillman for Ryan Jack, Alfredo Morelos, Scott Arfield, James Tavernier and Steven Davis, respectively. Napoli brought on Giacomo Raspadori, Mathias Olivera, Alessio Zerbin, Tanguy Ndombele and Eljif Elmas, to replace Giovanni Simeone, Mario Rui, Matteo Politano, Piotr Zielinski and Khvicha Kvaratskhelia.

The referee booked seven players. Alfredo Morelos, John Lundstram, James Sands, Borna Barisic and James Tavernier from Rangers, who saw yellow cards and James Sands (2 yellow cards), sent off with a red, as well as for Napoli Matteo Politano received yellows.

Next up, Rangers are away to Liverpool, whilst Napoli will travel to face Ajax.

Technical card:
Rangers:Allan McGregor, James Tavernier (Glen Kamara, min.82), Connor Goldson, James Sands, Borna Barisic, Scott Arfield (Rabbi Matondo, min.73), Steven Davis (Malik Tillman, min.82), John Lundstram, Ryan Jack (Leon Thomas King, min.63), Ryan Kent and Alfredo Morelos (Antonio Colak, min.72)
Napoli:Alex Meret, Giovanni Di Lorenzo, Amir Rrahmani, Min-jae Kim, Mario Rui (Mathias Olivera, min.77), Andre Zambo Anguissa, Stanislav Lobotka, Piotr Zielinski (Tanguy Ndombele, min.83), Matteo Politano (Alessio Zerbin, min.79), Giovanni Simeone (Giacomo Raspadori, min.77) and Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (Eljif Elmas, min.90)
Goals:Matteo Politano (0-1, min. 68), Giacomo Raspadori (0-2, min. 85) and Tanguy Ndombele (0-3, min. 90)