Rangers 1-3 Ajax: Visitors steal the show at the Ibrox Stadium

Photo Credit: AP

Ajax secured a 3-1 victory against Rangers at the Ibrox Stadium on Tuesday. Both teams arrived at the match with previous defeats in the league. Rangers were looking to get back to winning ways after losing 3-0 to Napoli in their previous fixture while Ajax had lost their previous match against Liverpool. Following the final whistle at the end of the last match of the Champions League season for both sides, Rangers and Ajax sit 4th (0 points) and 3rd (6 points) in the league respectively, after a total of 6 matches.

Ajax started the first half well, with an early goal from Steven Berghuis in the 4th minute. Ajax then netted once more and increased their lead thanks to a goal from Mohammed Kudus in the 29th minute to secure a 2-0 win.

The Gers took the initiative in the second half, when James Tavernier found the net in the 87th minute. In the end though, Ajax increased their advantage via a Chico Conceicao goal just before the final whistle. When the final whistle blew, the result was 3-1 to Ajax.

Substitutions for Rangers included Alfredo Morelos, Glen Kamara, Scott Wright, Rabbi Matondo and Alex Lowry for Antonio Colak, Steven Davis, Malik Tillman, Ryan Kent and Scott Arfield, respectively. Ajax brought on Devyne Rensch, Davy Klaassen, Florian Grillitsch and Chico Conceicao, to replace Owen Wijndal, Steven Berghuis, Kenneth Taylor and Steven Bergwijn.

The referee booked Kenneth Taylor, Devyne Rensch and Chico Conceicao for Ajax.

Technical card:
Rangers:Allan McGregor, James Tavernier, James Sands, Leon Thomas King, Borna Barisic, Fashion Sakala, Malik Tillman (Scott Wright, min.60), Steven Davis (Glen Kamara, min.60), Scott Arfield (Alex Lowry, min.84), Ryan Kent (Rabbi Matondo, min.83) and Antonio Colak (Alfredo Morelos, min.60)
Ajax:Remko Pasveer, Jorge Sanchez, Jurrien Timber, Calvin Ughelumba, Owen Wijndal (Devyne Rensch, min.44), Kenneth Taylor (Florian Grillitsch, min.87), Edson Alvarez, Steven Berghuis (Davy Klaassen, min.55), Mohammed Kudus, Steven Bergwijn (Chico Conceicao, min.88) and Dusan Tadic
Stadium:the Ibrox Stadium
Goals:Steven Berghuis (0-1, min. 4), Mohammed Kudus (0-2, min. 29), James Tavernier (1-2, min. 87) and Chico Conceicao (1-3, min. 89)