Porto 2-0 Bayer Leverkusen: The Company’s Eleven no match for Porto

Photo Credit: AP

Porto eased past Bayer Leverkusen in a 2-0 victory on Tuesday at the Estadio Do Dragao. Porto arrived at the match looking to pick up more points, following defeat to Club Brugge. Bayer had been hopeful of extending their winning run, after a 2-0 victory against Atletico Madrid. both teams are now on 3 points and sit in 3rd and 2nd places respectively after 3 matches.

After an uneventful first half, Porto applied pressure in the second and were rewarded, when Zaidu Sanusi gave them the lead on the 69 minute mark. Porto then netted once more and increased their advantage thanks to a goal from Wenderson Galeno just before the full time to give a final score of 2-0.

Substitutions for Porto included Otavio, Zaidu Sanusi, Wenderson Galeno, Toni Martinez and Marko Grujic for Bruno Costa, Wendell, Joao Mario, Evanilson and Mateus Uribe, respectively. Bayer replaced Adam Hlozek, Robert Andrich, Charles Aranguiz and Callum Hudson-Odoi for Amine Adli, Kerem Demirbay, Nadiem Amiri and Timothy Fosu-Mensah.

The referee booked Joao Mario, Mateus Uribe and David Carmo from Porto. Bayer had the worst of it though, with Piero Hincapie, Jeremie Frimpong and Robert Andrich seeing yellow, and Jeremie Frimpong (2 yellow cards) then sent off with a red.

Porto will next travel to Bayer Leverkusen, while Bayer will face Porto at home.

Technical card:
Porto:Diogo Costa, Joao Mario (Wenderson Galeno, min.63), David Carmo, Pepe, Wendell (Zaidu Sanusi, min.62), Bruno Costa (Otavio, min.46), Mateus Uribe (Marko Grujic, min.83), Stephen Eustaquio, Pepe, Mehdi Taremi and Evanilson (Toni Martinez, min.71)
Bayer Leverkusen:Lukas Hradecky, Jeremie Frimpong, Edmond Tapsoba, Jonathan Tah, Piero Hincapie, Moussa Diaby, Adam Hlozek (Amine Adli, min.72), Charles Aranguiz (Nadiem Amiri, min.79), Robert Andrich (Kerem Demirbay, min.73), Callum Hudson-Odoi (Timothy Fosu-Mensah, min.86) and Patrik Schick
Stadium:the Estadio Do Dragao
Goals:Zaidu Sanusi (1-0, min. 69) and Wenderson Galeno (2-0, min. 87)