Napoli 4-1 Liverpool: Gli Azzurri embarass the Reds in Naples

Napoli vs Liverpool
Photo Credit: AP

Napoli see Liverpool off 4-1 on Wednesday at Stadio Diego Armando Maradona. Today’s result, Napoli are now in 2nd place on the table and have 3 points while Liverpool sit in 3rd with 0 points after 1 match.

Napoli started strong and were rewarded for their efforts, with an early penalty goal from Piotr Zielinski in the 5th minute. Gli Azzurri looked to have the match under control when they scored again to grab the advantage, thanks to a goal from Andre Zambo Anguissa, at 31 minutes to establish a 2-0. The momentum was again with Napoli, who then scored again courtesy of a goal from Giovanni Simeone in the 44th minute to establish a 3-0 result. They then scored again, pulling level thanks to a second effort from Piotr Zielinski just before half-time. The first half ended 4-0.

The Reds started the second half with renewed vigour, with an early goal from Luis Diaz in the 49th minute, seing the match finish 4-1.

Substitutions for Napoli included Giovanni Simeone, Alessio Zerbin, Hirving Lozano, Eljif Elmas and Mario Rui for Victor Osimhen, Khvicha Kvaratskhelia, Matteo Politano, Piotr Zielinski and Mathias Olivera, respectively. Liverpool replaced Joel Matip, Diogo Jota, Thiago, Darwin Nunez and Arthur with Joe Gomez, Mohamed Salah, James Milner, Roberto Firmino and Harvey Elliott.

There were bookings for Amir Rrahmani from Napoli. For Liverpool, James Milner and Virgil Van Dijk saw yellow.

In the second round of action in the Champions League Napoli will travel to play Rangers and Liverpool will play Ajax at home.

Technical card:
Napoli:Alex Meret, Giovanni Di Lorenzo, Amir Rrahmani, Min-jae Kim, Mathias Olivera (Mario Rui, min.74), Matteo Politano (Hirving Lozano, min.57), Andre Zambo Anguissa, Stanislav Lobotka, Piotr Zielinski (Eljif Elmas, min.74), Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (Alessio Zerbin, min.57) and Victor Osimhen (Giovanni Simeone, min.41)
Liverpool:Alisson, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Virgil Van Dijk, Joe Gomez (Joel Matip, min.46), Andy Robertson, Fabinho, Harvey Elliott (Arthur, min.77), James Milner (Thiago, min.62), Luis Diaz, Mohamed Salah (Diogo Jota, min.62) and Roberto Firmino (Darwin Nunez, min.62)
Stadium:Stadio Diego Armando Maradona
Goals:Piotr Zielinski (1-0, min. 5), Andre Zambo Anguissa (2-0, min. 31), Giovanni Simeone (3-0, min. 44), Piotr Zielinski (4-0, min. 47) and Luis Diaz (4-1, min. 49)