Man City 5-0 Copenhague: A stroll for City as Haaland scoring streak continues

Photo Credit: AP

Manchester City rolls over Copenhague 5-0 on Wednesday at the Etihad Stadium. Man City were looking to pick up points after winning their previous two matches in the league. The most recent was against the Borussia Dortmund at home (2-1), the other to Seville away (4-0). Copenhague had managed to pick up a point in their matchup with Seville. Man City and Copenhague are 1st, (9 points) and 4th, (1 point), in the league respectively, after 3 matches.

Cityzens dominated the first half, when Erling Haaland opened the rout early in the first half. Man City looked to have the match under control when they scored again to grab the advantage, thanks to a 2nd effort from Erling Haaland, at 32 minutes to establish a 2-0. However they weren’t finished yet and Davit Khocholava made it 3-0, 39 minutes in to see out the first half 3-0.

Man City started the second half with renewed vigour, thanks to a goal from Riyad Mahrez, 55 minutes in. Man City then scored once more and increased their advantage thanks to a goal from Julian Alvarez, 76 minutes in to make it 5-0.

Substitutions for Man City included Cole Palmer, Rico Lewis and Josh Wilson-Esbrand for Erling Haaland, Joao Cancelo and Bernardo Silva, respectively. Copenhague brought on Valdemar Lund Jensen, Hakon Arnar Haraldsson, Peter Ankersen, Paul Mukairu and Christian Sorensen, to replace Mamoudou Karamoko, Mohammed Daramy, Kevin Diks, Viktor Claesson and Lukas Lerager.

The referee booked Marko Stamenic for Copenhague.

Man City will next travel to Copenhague, while Copenhague will face Manchester City at home.

Technical card:
Manchester City:Ederson, Joao Cancelo (Rico Lewis, min.57), Aymeric Laporte, Ruben Dias, Sergio Gomez, Riyad Mahrez, Bernardo Silva (Josh Wilson-Esbrand, min.66), Ilkay Gundogan, Jack Grealish, Erling Haaland (Cole Palmer, min.46) and Julian Alvarez
Copenhague:Kamil Grabara, Kevin Diks (Peter Ankersen, min.66), Denis Vavro, Davit Khocholava, Victor Kristiansen, Marko Stamenic, Mohammed Daramy (Hakon Arnar Haraldsson, min.56), Viktor Claesson (Paul Mukairu, min.66), Lukas Lerager (Christian Sorensen, min.79), Isak Bergmann Johanneson and Mamoudou Karamoko (Valdemar Lund Jensen, min.46)
Stadium:the Etihad Stadium
Goals:Erling Haaland (1-0, min. 7), Erling Haaland (2-0, min. 32), Davit Khocholava (3-0, min. 39), Riyad Mahrez (4-0, min. 55) and Julian Alvarez (5-0, min. 76)