Inter 0-2 Bayern Munich: The Reds win duel of European heavyweights

Inter vs Bayern Munich
Photo Credit: AP

Bayern Munich started on the right in the new Champions League campaign with victory against Internazionale. Today’s result, Inter and Bayern currently occupy 3rd and 2nd spots in the table, with 0 points and 3 points respectively after 1 match.

Bayern started strongly in the first half, when Leroy Sane found the net on the 25 minute mark, concluding the first half 1-0.

The Reds continued to apply pressure in the second period and were rewarded, thanks to a goal from Danilo D`Ambrosio on the 66 minute mark. The match ended with a 2-0 win for Bayern.

Substitutions for Inter included Joaquin Correa, Matteo Darmian, Federico Dimarco, Stefan De Vrij and Roberto Gagliardini for Edin Dzeko, Denzel Dumfries, Alessandro Bastoni, Milan Skriniar and Hakan Calhanoglu, respectively. Bayern replaced Marcel Sabitzer, Kingsley Coman, Matthijs De Ligt, Leroy Sane and Lucas Hernandez for Leon Goretzka, Serge Gnabry, Dayot Upamecano, Jamal Musiala and Josip Stanisic.

There were bookings for Federico Dimarco from Inter, and Matthijs De Ligt, for Bayern.

In the second round of action in the Champions League Inter will play against Viktoria Pilsen away and Bayern will play against Barcelona at home.

Technical card:
Internazionale:Andre Onana, Danilo D`Ambrosio, Milan Skriniar (Stefan De Vrij, min.72), Alessandro Bastoni (Federico Dimarco, min.72), Denzel Dumfries (Matteo Darmian, min.71), Hakan Calhanoglu (Roberto Gagliardini, min.81), Marcelo Brozovic, Henrikh Mkhitaryan, Robin Gosens, Edin Dzeko (Joaquin Correa, min.71) and Lautaro Martinez
Bayern Munich:Manuel Neuer, Benjamin Pavard, Matthijs De Ligt (Dayot Upamecano, min.75), Lucas Hernandez (Josip Stanisic, min.84), Alphonso Davies, Kingsley Coman (Serge Gnabry, min.75), Thomas Muller, Joshua Kimmich, Marcel Sabitzer (Leon Goretzka, min.61), Leroy Sane (Jamal Musiala, min.84) and Sadio Mane
Stadium:the Stadio Giuseppe Meazza
Goals:Leroy Sane (0-1, min. 25) and Danilo D`Ambrosio (0-2, min. 66)